Maggie MacNeil, University of Michigan Freshmen, Shine at Intrasquad Races

Michigan freshman Kathryn Ackerman at the 2019 U.S. National Championships. Photo Courtesy: Dan D'Addona

The University of Michigan swim team hosted an intrasquad set of races on Saturday morning at Canham Natatorium with some fast performances.

World Champion Maggie MacNeil opened the racing with a 51.86 performance in the 100 backstroke. MacNeil also won the 50 free in 22.12 ahead of Daria Pyschnenko (22.77). Pychnenko won the 100 free (50.64).

The Wolverine freshmen were also on display for the first time, and put together some strong performances.

Freshman Kathryn Ackerman won the 200 IM in 2:01.11 and the 200 back in 1:58.99.

Freshman Claire Tuttle finished first in the 100 breaststroke (1:03.18).

Tuttle (2:16.85) and Ackerman (2:17.36) went 1-2 in the 200 breaststroke.

Freshman Noelle Kaufmann won the 200 free in 1:51.18, just ahead of Megan Glass (1:51.47) and Sophia Kudryashova (1:51.55).

Kaitlynn Sims won the 1000 freestyle in 9:54.57 and the 500 free (4:49.09). Victoria Kwan won the 200 butterfly (2:03.70). Glass won the 100 butterfly (56.51).

The 200 free relay of Pyshnenko, Claire Newman, Kalli Fama and Caroline Sisson went a 1:35.63.

The University of Michigan men put together some fast racing on Saturday as well.

In the men’s meet, Wyatt Davis touched the wall in 46.80 in the 100 back. Davis also won the 200 back (1:43.80).

Mason Hunter won the 100 breaststroke in 53.27 and the 200 breast (1:59.18). Will Roberts won the 1000 free (9:01.82) and the 200 butterfly (1:45.57).

Patrick Callan won the 200 free in 1:35.09, just ahead of Jake Mitchell (1:35.59). Mitchell won the 500 free (4:20.83).

Gus Borges won the 50 free in 19.75 ahead of Cam Peel (20.02) and also won the 100 free (43.75).

Jared Daigle won the 200 IM in 1:48.10. River Wright won the 100 fly (47.84).

The University of Michigan 200 free relay of James LeBuke, Bence Szabados, Eric Storms and Peel touched in 1:19.65.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.