Lindsey Horejsi Sets National Record in 100 Breast on Day 1 of Minnesota State High School Girls Championship

Lindsey Horejsi
Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website

Girls A State Championship Swimming Prelims

On the first day of the Minnesota Girls A State Championships, Lindsey Horejsi broke the national record in the 100-yard breastroke with an incredible swim of 58.56. She broke Kasey Carlson’s 2009 record of 58.75 and will go into finals seeded first by over 4 seconds. Horejsi was followed by Samantha Norton who was second in 1:03.57, while Amber Eckstein was third in 1:05.09.

Abbie Dolan also had a record to claim, starting off the individual racing off with a bang by breaking Kiera Janzen’s 2008 state record in the 200-yard free with a swift swim of 1:47.72, out touching the previous record of 1:47.86. She was followed by Kasey Milstroh who was 1:50.61 and Samantha Norton who swam a time of 1:54.44.

In another incredible swim, Donal followed up on her record breaking 200-yard freestyle with a blazing 49.69 in the 100-yard free. She was followed by Emily Conners who posted a 50.93, while Anna Andersen was third in 51.63. In the 200-yard IM Allyssa Phelps leads the field with a 2:08.23. Eckstein will go into finals in second, just over Anna Ellis who were 2:10.54 and 2:10.84 respectively.

Earlier in the meet, in the 200-yard medley relay the team of Grace Snyder (27.47) Emily Kishish (29.59) Lorelei Gaertner (25.28) and Emily Conners (22.92) from Visitation, Mendota Heights combined for a time of 1:45.26. They were followed by Albert Lea whose team of Bailey Sandon (28.91) Lindsey Horejsi (27.00) Ahnika Jensen (25.64) and Emily Taylor (25.01) posted a time of 1:46.56. In third was Orono whose team of Alison Tallen (28.43) Samantha Norton (29.72) Ellie Thompson (27.54) and Caroline Gardner (24.51) in 1:49.75.

Horejsi posted a very swift 22.84 in the 50-yard free to grab the first place seed. This time puts her just off the state record of 22.73 set in 2008 by Hannah Bowen, which should speak to exciting things for tomorrow’s final. Conners followed in 23.32, while Makayla Suominen was third in 23.82.

Bre Thorne led the field in the 100-yard fly, posting a time of 56.43. Lorelei Gaertner was second, touching the wall in 57.16 while Madison Berg rounded out the top three with a 57.38.

Kasey Milstroh dominated the 500-yard free with a time of 5:03.17 to lead the event going into tomorrow, while Megan Mensinger was second in 5:08.59, and Maria Mattaini was third in 5:09.07.

In the 200-yard free relay, Visitation, Mendota Heights followed up their previous relay dominance with a strong performance from the team of Lorelei Gaertner (24.18) Emily Conners (23.30) Emily Kishish (24.69) and Abbie Dolan (22.95) touching the wall in 1:35.12. They were followed by Orono’s team of Nora Luetmer (25.25) Alison Tallen (25.25) Caroline Gardner (24.31) and Samantha Norton (23.55) who posted a time of 1:38.36. Albert Lea was third with the team of Anna Andersen (24.05) Ahnika Jensen (23.99) Haley Simon (25.52) and Emily Taylor (25.24) who finished in 1:38.80.

In the 100-yard back Bre Thorne posted a swift time of 56.62 to take the top seed. She was followed by Anna Ellis in 57.49 and Jessica Stangret in 57.54.

In the final race of the day, the women’s 400-yard free relay was again dominated by Visitation, Mendota Heights whose team of Grace Snyder (53.55) Meghan Sexton (53.81) Sophie Kishish (55.17) and Abbie Dolan (49.97) posted a time of 3:32.50. They were followed by Breck School, whose team of Bre Thorne (52.51) Bella Pittinger (54.40) Blair Bingham (55.39) and Allyssa Phelps (51.91) who swam a solid 3:34.21. In third was Albert Lea whose team of Ahnika Jense (54.41) Emily Taylor (55.43) Haley Simon (55.77) and Lindsey Horejsi (51.71) were 3:37.32.

Girls AA State Championship Swimming Prelims

In the Girls AA State Championship Prelims featured some very close races, starting off with the he 50-yard freestyle which kept the top 3 within half a second of each other. Rachel Wittmer led the field with a solid 23.30, followed by Bella Smits in 23.61 and Colleen Donlin in 23.70.

The 100-yard free was even closer with Riley Donlin and Ava Howard battled the entire race, with Donlin out touching Howard by one-hundreth of a second, posting a 51.16 to Howard’s 51.17. Bella Smits made it interesting, by touching one-hundreth later in a time of 51.18, promising a swift race in tomorrow’s final.

In the 200-yard Medley Relay, Wayzata’s team of Carly Quast (25.78) Madison Preiss (28.98) Alexis Schaaf (24.93) and Colleen Donlin (23.09) dominated with a time of 1:42.78. They were followed by Lakeville South’s team of Shea Bougie (26.34) Brianna Alexander (29.92) Ryenne Hathaway (25.17) and Josie Sommers (23.91) in a time of 1:45.34 and Minnetonka’s team of Raegan Willis (26.98) Martha Haas (29.41) Cecilia Ostergren (25.91) and Emily Haan (23.80) who were 1:45.38.

The 200-yard free saw a strong swim out of Carly Quast who came off of her quick relay swim to post a time of 1:49.70. She was followed by Raime Jones (1:50.82) and Kelli McCarthy (1:51.00)

Madison Preiss dominated the 200-yard IM with a swift 2:02.42. She was followed by Megan Wenman who was 2:03.17 and Brianna Alexander who was 2:04.38.

In the 100-yard fly, Rachel Wittmer came back from her 100-yard free victory to take another event with a 55.18. She was followed closely by Angela Le who was 55.87 and Asia Neuman who was 55.94.

In the 500-yard free Erin McCarthy and Helen Jensen both got under the 5:00 barrier, posting 4:59.68 and 4:59.76 respectively. Emma Ruehle was third in 5:02.71.

Wayzata proved their relay fortitude in the 200-yard free relay with the team of Alexis Schaaf (23.86) Jordan McGinty (24.16) Sarah Lingen (23.55) and Madison Preiss (23.50) posting a time of 1:35.07. They were followed by Edina’s team of Ashley Post (24.43) Nora Clarkowski (24.32) Raime Jones (23.61) and Rachel Wittmer (23.72) swim of 136.08. In third, Lakeville South posted a time of 1:36.53 with their team of Ryenne Hathaway (24.04) Josie Sommers (24.31) Brianna Alexander (24.39) and Shea Bougie (23.79)

Carly Quast led the 100-yard back with a time of 54.43. She was followed by Ava Howard who was 54.90 and Abigail Schwartz who touched the wall in 56.08.

Madison Preiss led the 100-yard breast with a time of 1:02.36 to grab her first place lead. She was followed by Emma Lezer, 1:03.41 and Tara Chapman, 1:03.64.

In the final event of the night, Wayzata completed their relay streak with a time of 3:27.57, with their team of Sarah Lingen (51.95) Jordan McGinty (53.30) Carly Quast (50.96) and Colleen Donlin (51.36). Edina followed with their team of Raime Jones (51.65) Kelli McCarthy (52.89) Sophie Clarkowski (52.83) and Ashley Post (52.13) for a time of 3:29.50. Minnetonka was third with the team of Sophie Levy (52.91) Emily Haan (53.76) Anna Justinak (52.09) and Martha Haas (52.31) finishing in 3:31.07.

The Minnesota Girls Swimming and Diving Championships will conclude tomorrow with Diving and Swimming finals.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
8 years ago

Congratulations to Horejsi on bettering her 2014 record of 59.56 by a full second , and to Abbie (not Annie) Dolan for setting an all-state record in the 200 Free. Her great prelim swim in the 100 free, however, did not upset Zoe Avestruz’s 2014 record of 49.24.
Errors and typos aside, thanks for the coverage of the MSHSL state meets!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x