Li Zhuhao Lowers World Best 100 Fly To 51.24 At Chinese Nationals

(140819) -- NANJING, Aug. 19, 2014 (Xinhua) -- Li Zhuhao of China celebrates after winning men's 100m butterfly final event at the Nanjing 2014 Youth Olympic Games in Nanjing, east China's Jiangsu Province, Aug. 19, 2014. Li won the gold medal. (Xinhua/Chen Yehua) (ljr)
Photo Courtesy: Xinhua/Chen Yehua

Day seven of the 2016 Chinese Nationals featured another dynamite 100 fly from Li Zhuhao and a top ten showing from Chen Xinyi in the 50 free.

Liu Yaxin and Chen Jie kept it close in finals of the women’s 200-meter backstroke posting final times .28 seconds apart. Yaxin powered ahead to finish first with a time of 2:10.01 over Jie’s 2:10.29. Rounding out the top three finishers was Cheng Haihua with a time of 2:11.73.

Li Zhuhao of Zhejiang powered ahead of the competition in the men’s 100-meter fly to touch first with a time of 51.24. Zhuhao’s time rockets him to the top of the world rankings for 2016. A pair of 52’s from Zhang Qi Bin (52.34) and Zhou Jiawei (52.44) completed the top three.

The women’s 800-meter free proved to be a close field with a slim two and a half seconds separating the top three finishers. Leading the pack was Zhang Yuhan who delivered a final time of 8:24.04 for gold, while Xinxing of Shandong Hosa posted a second place finish of 8:25.16. Hou Yawen was third with a time of 8:26.76.

Yu He Xin maintained his spot atop the leaderboard in the men’s 50-meter free winning gold with a time of 22.16. He Xin’s time moves him up slightly in the world rankings from 15th (22.19) to 14th (22.16). Shi Yang grabbed second overall with a time of 22.40, while Guo Wei took third with a time of 22.46.

Earning a spot in the top 20 of the world rankings for 2016 was Chen Xinyi with a 24.70 in the women’s 50-meter free semi-finals. Xinyi’s time ties her for seventh with Aliaksandra Herasimenia. Posting the only other 24-second 50 was Liu Xiang, who stopped the clock at a 24.84. Third went to Zhumeng Hui (25.19).

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Rasmus Udbye Pedersen
8 years ago

Christian Juul Jensen ohhhh

Christian Juul Jensen
8 years ago

Han er vild

Jose Daniel Justiniano

Bruno Ribera T ahi esta el que la va a partir?

Bruno Ribera T
8 years ago

Si ese camba gana yo me dedico al pin pon

Paul Lang
8 years ago


Alejandro Urista Camacho

Ricardo Parra Saúl González

Ricardo Parra Hdz
8 years ago

Pero toma chochos

Saúl González
8 years ago

Jajajaja como tú ooouuu

Ricardo Parra Hdz
8 years ago

Ja , quiere s que te pagué?

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x