Laser-Tight Finishes and More During Day Two Rochester Futures

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold / Aringo Photos

By Nick Pecoraro, Swimming World College Intern.

Day two of the Rochester Futures meet had very tight battles for top three finishes. Six races this evening featured contenders all finishing within at most one tenth of a second, including a one one-hundredth finish between first and second in the men’s 100 fly. Another evening highlight was 12-year-old Leah Hayes of Fox Valley moved up two spots to rank fifth all-time in the girls 11-12 LCM 200 free nationally.

Taking the lead in the women’s standings are the Jeffco Hurricanes with 155.50 points. The Cypress Fairbanks ladies are now in second at 147 points. Tying in third place are the ladies of Lakeside and Nitro, both with 122 points.

The Lakeside men retain their men’s team point lead with 332 points. The Nitro men are in second at 293 points, third are the Cypress Fairbanks men with 220 points.

Results can be found on Meet Mobile under “2018 USA Swimming Futures Championship RSC” or by clicking here to view full day two results.

Women’s 200 Free

After having the fastest 200 free split yesterday in the 800 free relay, Nitro’s Ana Herceg took the win, clocking in at 2:03.00.

12-year-old Hayes of Fox Valley flipped at the 150 mark in fourth place. Hayes blasted a 31.09 last 50 split to take second at 2:04.29, out-touching Springfield YMCA’s Kaitlynn Wheeler (2:04.30) by one one-hundredth.

Men’s 200 Free

Another hot relay anchor from last night, Central Iowa’s Trent Frandson took the title at 1:53.83. Taking second was Nitro’s Corby Furrer (1:54.95) and rounding out the top three was Springfield YMCA’s Matthew Knox (1:55.46).

Women’s 100 Breast

Splash Club’s Haley Downey touched the 50 mark in seventh, yet came back on the rest of the field to win the 100 breast at 1:12.38, chipping nearly two seconds off her prelims time.

Runner-up behind Downey was Csp Tideriders’s Helen Wojdylo (1:12.61) and taking third place was Ozaukee’s Brigid Gwidt (1:12.91).

Men’s 100 Breast

Power For Life went 1-2 in the men’s 100 breast with Charles Bennett taking the win at 1:04.99 and teammate Jacob Schababerle finishing right behind Bennett at 1:05.14.

Taking third was Dallas Mustangs’s Henry Wang (1:05.98), just out-touching fourth place finisher Waterloo’s Matthew Lane (1:05.99) by one one-hundredth.

Women’s 100 Fly

Greater Nebraska’s Caroline Theil won the women’s 100 fly at 1:02.29. Taking second was Cypress Fairbanks’s Anna Ervin at 1:02.89 and finishing off the top three was Club Husker’s Lindsay Helferich at 1:02.98.

Men’s 100 Fly

With a home pool advantage, Rochester’s Grant Reeves won the 100 fly at 56.85, out-touching runner-up Rush Clark (56.86) of Greater Omaha by one one-hundredth.

Rounding out the top three by yet another tight finish was Alamo’s Isaac Barrera (56.91), taking down fourth-place finisher Lakeside’s Tyler Johns (56.92).

Women’s 400 IM

Narrowly missing breaking the five minute mark and winning the women’s 400 IM was Jeffco Hurriances’s Riley Tapley at 5:00.06.

A strong breaststroke leg from Rice’s Ella Flowers got her a second place finish at 5:00.36. Taking another top three finish was Splash’s Downey at 5:01.51.

Men’s 400 IM

It’s all about the back-half in IM races, and Central Iowa’s Cameron Linder had that vital strength to win the men’s 400 IM at 4:34.93.

Taking second was Cypress Fairbanks’s Elliott Jones at 4:35.71 and rounding out the top three was Nitro’s Michael Shay at 4:36.43.

Women’s 400 Free Relay

The Cypress Fairbanks relay of Sydney Stanford (59.02), Anna Ervin (59.84), Aislinn Holder  (59.86), and Carson Kaufmann (58.38) won the event at 3:57.10. This win aided Cypress Fairbanks to a women’s freestyle relays sweep.

Just four one-hundredths behind was the Springfield YMCA ladies at 3:57.14 and taking third was the Jeffco ladies at 3:57.88.

Men’s 400 Free Relay

The Nitro men also had a freestyle relay sweep with 400 free relay members William Corona  (54.46), Reilly Gilbert (53.74), Vincent Ribeiro (52.93), and anchor Furrer (51.97) clocking in a time of 3:33.10.

Taking second was the Central Iowa men at 3:33.27. The fastest 100 split of the night went to anchor and 200 free champion Frandson, stopping the clock at 51.34. Taking third was the Lakside men at 3:34.15.

The tight races resume tomorrow for day three of the Rochester Futures with the 200 Fly, 50 Free, 200 Breast, 100 Back, and 400 Free. Prelims start at 9 am CDT, finals begin at 6 pm CDT.

Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial