Kwasny, Lanne, Wike and Walker Shine on Final Day of Kerr-McGee Pro-Am

OKLAHOMA City, Okla., December 21. KWASNY, Lanne, Wike and Walker — it sounds like a law firm. In fact, it's the names of the standout swimmers on the final day of competition at the Kerr-McGee Elite Pro-Am meet in Oklahoma City.

Michala Kwasny, who had a dynamite showing during all four days here, came from behind in the back half of the rase to win the 200 fly with the day's only meet record, a 1:56.63. The old mark was 1:57.79 by Summer Sanders set 11 years ago.

Kwasny, swimming for NOVA, split 55.81 at the 100, behind Beth Goodwin's 55.39, but overtook her southern California rival to win by almost two seconds. Goodwin finished in 1:57.51, not far off her PR of 1:58.14.

Women's Highlights
Sixteen year-old Justine Schluntz won her second event here, taking the 1650 free in 16:38.07 , just three strokes ahead of 14 year-old Micah Martindale, at 16:41.10.

Former Texas star Colleen Lanne completed her freestyle sprint treble with a convincing win in the 100. Now swimming for NOVA, Lanne clocked 48.57, just off Angel Martino's meet standard of 48.50 set in 1994. Erin Phenix was second in 49.17 followed by 16 year-old Dana Vollmer, 49.60.

Susan Woessner, former Indiana University star now swimming for Texas Aquatics, won the 200 back in 1:58.86. Double breaststroke winner Caroline Bruce was second in 2:00.14.

After finishing second to Bruce twice, 2000 Olympian Staciana Stitts won the 50 breast tonight in 28.62.

The Dallas Mustangs, winners of the 400 free relay two nighst ago, captured the 200 free relay in 1:36.45.

Men's Highlights
Mission Viejo's Chad Carvin swam to his fourth win in four attempts, but his 15:15.62 was not up to the quality of the 4:14.85 he swam last night in the 500. Still, the 29 year-old veteran had no trouble grabbing the gold, as he won by 14 seconds.

After three days of frustration with a handful of silver and bronze finishes, James Wike finally came up golden as he won the 200 back in 1:44.93. And he had to beat Nate Dusing (1:45.96), who led for the first 75 yards, to do it. Splitting 51.31, he came back in 53.62 to secure the win.

The 100 free saw the top five finishers break 45 seconds. Neil Walker took the race out hard — 20.80 at the 50 — then held off four determined challengers who definitely were gaining at the end. Walker touched in 43.66, followed by Gabe Woodward, 43.94; Bryan Jones, 44.39, Matt Weghorst, 44.62 and Luke Anderson, 44.73.

Joey Montague won the 200 fly in 1:48.76, edging local Kerr-McGee standout Sean Smith, 1:49.96.

Dave denniston completed his breaststroke treble, winning the 50 in 25.39, two-tenths ahead of per O Nylin.

SMU took the 200 free relay in 1:23.01.