Kirsty Coventry, Therese Alshammar, Cammile Adams Among Top Names at Speedo Sectionals in College Station

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Plenty of top names took part today at the Speedo Sectionals in College Station, Texas. This meet is being run with short course yards in prelims and long course meters at night.

SwimMAC’s Kirsty Coventry, 32, uncorked a 2:09.66 to win the women’s 200-meter back.  She’s been much better historically with a best time of 2:04.81 from 2009 Worlds that ranks her second all time, but she didn’t have much competition here at a primarily younger event. Texas A&M’s Lisa Bratton, fresh off helping her Aggies win the SEC Title last week, posted a 2:15.73.   Texas Ford’s Sofie Underdahl placed third in 2:17.23, while 14-year-old Chloe Clark took sixth overall in 2:18.53.

Aggie’s Sarah Henry posted a lifetime best in the women’s 100-meter free with a 56.47.  That time cleared her 57.36 from the 2014 Texas Senior Circuit meet.  PASA’s Isabelle Henig, just 15, posted a 56.56 to place second. That bested her record of 57.10 from last year’s sectionals.  Therese Alshammar, currently in the U.S. right now but still representing the Taby Swim Swim Club wound up third in 56.88.

SwimMAC’s Cammile Adams raced her way to a 2:08.38 to win the women’s 200-meter fly.  That swim is just off her sixth-ranked season best of 2:08.21 from the Austin stop of the Arena Pro Swim Series.  Metroplex’s Lindsay Looney took second in 2:13.33 with Longhorn’s Victoria Edwards earning third in 2:15.45.

Texas Ford’s Gabrielle Kopenski took home the women’s 400-meter free title in 4:14.65.  Mansfield’s Haley Yelle placed second in 4:20.76, while RACE’s Marcy Johnston took third in 4:26.35.

Nitro’s Sean Grieshop captured the men’s 200-meter fly title in 2:02.45, while PASA’s Alex Liang touched just behind with a second-place time of 2:02.90.  PASA’s Lucca Martins snared third in 2:02.98.

Grieshop doubled up with a 3:56.60 in the men’s 400-meter free.  Alamo Area’s Zachary Yeadon took second in 4:00.55 with Longhorn’s Grant Reed placing third in 4:02.40.

Sierra Marlins’ Bryce Mefford took the men’s 200-meter back crown in 2:00.07 with PASA’s Ben Ho earning second in 2:02.93.  KATY’s Austin Vacek placed third in 2:03.79. Austin Swim Club’s Tim Squires claimed the men’s 100-meter free title in 50.46.  Sierra Marlins’ Liam O’Haimhirgin took second in 50.52.  CyFair’s Sean Morey wound up third in 52.19.

Results are only available on Meet Mobile.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x