Kevin Cordes Blasts 200 Breast NCAA, American Record With 1:48

Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 30. ARIZONA's Kevin Cordes jumped himself into a different stratosphere in the men's 200-yard breaststroke at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships with another barrier-breaking swim.

Cordes, who already posted the fastest time ever with a 1:49.79 in prelims, blasted the field en route to an NCAA and American record 1:48.68 in the finale. He split the race 24.61, 52.19 (27.58), 1:20.78 (28.59), 1:48.68 (27.90).

For comparison's sake, using our Time Conversion Utility, that swim converts to a 2:00.63 in short course meters and 2:05.21 in long course meters. Daniel Gyurta owns the SCM record with a 2:0.67 from 2009, while Akihiro Yamaguchi holds the LCM mark with a 2:07.01 from last year in Japan.

Arizona finished 1-2 in the race with Carl Mickelson taking second in 1:51.90. That's 3.22 seconds behind, just off the NCAA record for margin of victory held by John Hencken with a 3.66-second triumph ahead of Kevin Williams in 1975.

Mickelson moved into a ninth-place tie with Trevor Hoyt of California in the all-time performers list, while Cordes became just the second Wildcat to ever win the event. He joined Clark Burckle, who prevailed in the 2010 race with a 1:53.19.

Hoyt raced to third with a 1:52.19, while Indiana's Cody Miller touched fourth in 1:53.29. California's Josh Prenot (1:53.74), Florida's Matt Elliott (1:53.79), Michigan's Richard Funk (1:54.15) and Dartmouth's Nejc Zupan (1:54.40) also competed in the finale. Georgia's Nicolas Fink took home the B final win in 1:53.79.

Michigan's leading tally moved to 417 points, while California pushed its second-place total to 362.5 points. Arizona (278.5), Southern California (249) and Texas (248) held third through fifth moving into the 200 fly.

Comments Off on Kevin Cordes Blasts 200 Breast NCAA, American Record With 1:48

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here