Katie Ledecky Claims Two More Wins at Day Three of IU Bucceto Open

Photo Courtesy: Griffin Scott

Day three finals of the IU Bucceto Open kicked off with a dynamite 200-meter free from Katie Ledecky. Ledecky turned in a time of 1:56.78, dropping 1.65 seconds off her prelims time of 1:58.43 and only putting her .62 seconds off her current 2015 world best of 1:56.16.

Mallory Comerford took second in the 200-meter free with a 2:02.61, while Andrea Kneppers finished third with a 2:02.77.

Blake Pieroni claimed the men’s 200-meter free with a 1:51.51, dropping 4.03 seconds from his prelims time of 1:55.54. Trevor Carroll took second with a 1:51.97, while Grigory Tarasevich was third with a 1:53.12.

The women’s 200-meter breaststroke was led by Lauren Edelman who touched first with a 2:36.47, dropping 2.21 seconds from her prelims time of 2:38.68. Lucy Kramer finished second with a 2:40.37, while Emily Weiss rounded out the top three with a 2:41.86.

Chandler Bray led the men’s 200-meter breaststroke finishing with a 2:20.61 to claim the win. Dexter Thomas finished second with a 2:21.78, while Todd Owen was third with a 2:25.34.

Kelsi Worrell dominated the women’s 50-meter free finishing .85 seconds ahead of the competition with a 25.56. Catherine Mulquin was second with a 26.41. Andrea Kneelers rounded out the top three with a 26.53.

Ali Khalafalla claimed first in the men’s 50-meter free with a 23.58. Kyle DeCoursey finished second with a 23.83, while Trevor Carroll took third with a 23.86.

Ledecky showed her versatility by claiming the win in the 400-meter IM with a time of 4:41.70, dropping 5.40 seconds from her prelims time of 4:47.10. Edelman took second with a 4:51.58, while Hannah Kukurugya was third with a 4:54.22.

Andrew Gemmell led the men’s 400-meter IM finishing with a time of 4:27.48, dropping four seconds from his prelims time of 4:31.48. Glen Brown claimed second with a 4:28.83, while Mark Andrew rounded out the top three with a 4:32.89.

The women’s 800-meter free relay team of Gia Dalesandro (2:05.75), Ali Rockett (2:07.26), Stephanie Marchuk (2:06.86) and Kaitlin Kitchens (2:08.11) of Indiana University Swim Team claimed the win with a final time of 8:27.98. Carmel Swim Club’s ‘A’ relay finished second with a time of 8:36.83, while their ‘B’ relay were third with an 8:43.24.

Andrej Ivanovic (1:56.89), John Winck (2:00.98), Ethan Curl (2:00.86) and Max Irwin (2:01.58) of Indiana University Swim Team took first in the men’s 800-meter free relay with a final time of 8:00.31. Northridge Area Swimming finished second with a time of 8:06.06, while the Fishers Area Swimming Tigers claimed third with a time of 8:11.31.

All results can be found on Meet Mobile.