Joseph Schooling, Yip Pin Xiu Headline Inaugural Singapore Aquatics Hall of Fame Class


Joseph Schooling, Yip Pin Xiu Headline Inaugural Singapore Aquatics Hall of Fame Class

Singapore Aquatics marked its 85th anniversary this week by inducting its inaugural Aquatics Hall of Fame Class, which includes Joseph Schooling and Yip Pin Xiu.

Six individuals and two teams were the inaugural class, led by Olympic gold medalist and newly retired Schooling. They were chosen by a selection panel comprised of aquatics officials, former national swimmers the Singapore National Aquatic Committee and Sport Singapore.

“The inductees laid the foundations,” said legacy council chair Patricia Chan. “… They showed us how determination and dedication lead to excellence. They paved the way for the aquatic athletes of today and tomorrow. We must not forget them and what they achieved.”

Honorees were unveiled Friday at Singapore Aquatics 85th anniversary gala. Among the guests of honor were Singapore President Tharman Shanmugaratnam and Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Edwin Tong. The organization has raised more than $1 million this spring, much of it going into programming, developmental support and support for athletes, including those training for the Paris Olympics this summer.

“We hope the funds raised will serve as a catalyst for our mission to advance the various facets of our sport,” Singapore Aquatics president Mark Chay said. “With these resources, we aim to expand competition and career-support opportunities for our athletes and coaches while striving to create better training environments and infrastructure for our sports development.”

Schooling, who just retired, famously won the country’s first gold medal in the men’s 100 butterfly at the Rio Olympics. He was a 12-time NCAA champion at the University of Texas to go with two bronze medals at World Championships, three Asian Games golds and 29 Southeast Asian Games golds.

Tao Li swam at a pair of Olympics. She won two gold medals, both in the 50 fly, at the Asian Games and has 29 total SEA Games golds.

Joscelin Yeo won a pair of Asian Games bronze medals in butterfly. She has 40 career SEA Games medals over eight competitions. The former Nominated Member of Parliament, who retired in 2007, swam at the Olympics four times and the Commonwealth Games three times.

Yip Pin Xiu is a five-time Paralympic gold medalist. She has four world titles to her name and is still competing at age 32.

Kenneth Kee was a longtime water polo player who was named Coach of the Year in 1982.

Tan Eng Liang chaired Singapore’s Sports Council from 1975-91 and the SNOC from 1992-2020.

The men’s 400 freestyle relay of Barry Mitchell, Lionel Chee, Neo Chwee Kok and Wiebe Wolters won gold at the inaugural Asian Games in 1951. Three years later, the Singapore men’s water polo team won gold at the 1954 Asian Games.

Singapore Aquatics Hall of Fame Class of 2024

  • Joseph Schooling
  • Tao Li
  • Joscelin Yeo
  • Yip Pin Xiu
  • Kenneth Kee
  • Tan Eng Liang
  • 1951 Asian Games men’s 400 freestyle relay (Barry Mitchell, Lionel Chee, Neo Chwee Kok, Wiebe Wolters)
  • 1954 Asian Games men’s water polo team
Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x