Joseph Schooling Among Winners At Night Two Of 2016 Atlanta Classic

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Everything you need to follow along with day two finals of the 2016 Atlanta Classic.

Schedule of Events:

  • Women’s 200 Fly
  • Men’s 200 Fly
  • Women’s 50 Free
  • Men’s 50 Free
  • Women’s 100 Back
  • Men’s 100 Back
  • Women’s 200 Breast
  • Men’s 200 Breast
  • Women’s 50 Fly
  • Men’s 50 Fly
  • Women’s 400 Free
  • Men’s 400 Free

Hit refresh for all the latest coverage.

Women’s 200 Fly:

Mar 21, 2015; Greensboro, NC, USA; Hali Flickinger swims 200 butterfly during NCAA Division I Swimming and Diving-Championships at Greensboro Aquatic Center. Mandatory Credit: Evan Pike-USA TODAY Sports

Photo Courtesy: Evan Pike – USA TODAY Sports Images

Hali Flickinger maintained her spot atop the leaderboard in the women’s 200 fly with a swift finish of 2:08.61. Flickinger succeeded in shaving 2.21 seconds off her prelims time of 2:10.82 to tie for twentieth in the world rankings for 2016.

Moving up from fifth to second was Stanford’s Ella Eastin. Eastin delivered a final time of 2:10.25 to shave more than three and a half seconds off her prelims time.

Lauren Case also moved up to claim the bronze medal with a time of 2:12.01, just ahead of fourth place Megan Kingsley’s 2:12.31.

Christine Bechtel finished fifth overall with a 2:12.64, while Andreina Pinto slid to sixth with a 2:13.28.

Taylor Katz (2:14.39) and Mia Nonnenberg (2:15.08) rounded out the top eight.

Men’s 200 Fly:


Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold / Aringo Photos

One night after winning the men’s 100 fly at Atlanta, Joseph Schooling continued to dominate the butterfly events with a win in the 200 fly. Schooling delivered a final time of 1:57.37, shaving 2.13 seconds off his prelims time of 1:59.50.

Pace Clark claimed the silver medal with a time of 1:58.03, while Kyle Higgins posted a 1:58.83 for the bronze.

Schooling’s fellow Texan Jack Conger finished fourth overall with a time of 1:59.42, just ahead of Tom Shields’ 1:59.45.

Sebastien Rousseau grabbed sixth with a time of 2:00.05.

Mick Litherland (2:01.00) and Dakota Hodgson (2:01.03) kept a tight race for seventh and eighth respectively.

Women’s 50 Free:

Jun 20, 2015; Santa Clara, CA, USA; Simone Manuel (USA) wins the Women's 50M Freestyle in a time of 24.75 during the Championship Finals in evening session of Day 3 at the George F. Haines International Swim Center in Santa Clara, Calif. Mandatory Credit: Bob Stanton-USA TODAY Sports

Photo Courtesy: Robert Stanton/USA Today Sports Images

The women’s 50 free featured a tight field of NCAA sprint superstars. Simone Manuel, who took a redshirt this year from Stanford to focus on the upcoming Olympic Trials, bested the competition with a 25.21 finish for first.

Olivia Smoliga slid to second with a close 25.25, while Olympian Lia Neal posted a 25.32 for third.

Amanda Weir turnd in a finish of 25.56 for fourth, just ahead of fifth place Madeline Locus’ 25.71.

Natalie Labonge delivered a 25.86 to finish just ahead of Isabel Ivey’s 25.89.

Bailey Scott was eighth with a 26.02.

Men’s 50 Free:


Photo Courtesy: Kara Sekenski

Nathan Adrian dashed ahead of the competition in the men’s 50 free to win with a 21.93.

Marcelo Chierighini finished second overall with a time of 22.29, while Bruno Fratus grabbed third with a time of 22.53.

NCAA champion Caeleb Dressel earned fourth with a 22.68 and was followed to the wall by a tie between John Murray and Robert Howard. The two stopped the clock at a final time of 22.97.

John Wagner turned in a time of 23.22 to finish seventh, while eighth went to Michael Arnold and his 22.36.

Women’s 100 Back:


Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Olivia Smoliga turned up the heat in the women’s 100 back to grab the gold with a time of 1:00.13, slicing .75 seconds off her prelims time.

Natalie Coughlin posted the second fastest time of the night at a 1:01.18, while third went to Bridgette Alexander and her time of 1:01.46.

The young Alex Walsh turned in a time of 1:01.51 to finish fourth overall, just ahead of Courtney Caldwell’s 1:01.72.

Tasiji Karosas grabbed a close sixth with a time of 1:01.75.

Felicia Lee (1:02.07) and Lisa Bratton (1:02.18) rounded out the top eight.

Men’s 100 Back:


Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Ryan Murphy and teammate Jacob Pebley maintained their spots at the top of the podium with a 1-2 finish for Cal. Murphy delivered the only sub-54 finish of the meet with a 53.08. Pebley settled for second nad a time of 54.27.

Taylor Dale finished third overall with a 55.36, while Michael Taylor took fourth with a 55.53.

Corey Main was fifth with a time of 55.73, ahead of Eugene Godsoe and Justin Ress’ matching 56.33 finishes.

Jay Litherland grabbed eighth with a time of 56.57.

Women’s 200 Breast:


Photo Courtesy: Maddie Kyler

Melanie Margalis claimed the win in the women’s 200 breaststroke with a final 2:26.66.

Laura Sogar grabbed second with a time of 2:28.32 with Sarah Henry posting a 2:28.70 for third.

Annie Zhu delivered a 2:29.61 for fouth, while Ella Nelson took fifth with a time of 2:32.00.

Meaghan Raab grabbed sixth overall with a time of 2:32.49, ahead of Kayla Brumbaum‘s 2:33.87.

Eighth went to Madisyn Cox and her time of 2:34.47.

Men’s 200 Breast:


Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Josh Prenot of Cal rocketed to first and a world ranking of eighth place for 2016 in the men’s 200 breaststroke. Prenot stopped the clock at  2:09.49 for the gold.

Reece Whitley maintained his spot at second with a time of 2:14.99, shaving 2.15 seconds off his time of 2:17.14. A close third was Moises Loschi with a final time of 2:15.47.

Andrew Wilson, last night’s winner in the men’s 100 breaststroke, settled for fourth and a time of 2:18.91.

A duo of 2:19’s followed Wilson as Michael Duderstadt (2:19.19) and Chuck Katis (2:19.41) claimed fifth and sixth place respectively.

Basil Orr (2:21.72) and Brad Craig (2:21.87) were seventh and eighth overall.

Women’s 400 Free:

FINA World Championships Katie Ledecky

Photo Courtesy: R-Sport / MIA Rossiya Segodnya

Katie Ledecky continued her distance prowess with a solid win in the women’s 400 free. Ledecky clocked a 4:00.31 to finish almost nine full seconds ahead of the competition and flirted with her 2016 best of 3:59.54.

Hali Flickinger, the 200 fly winner, grabbed second with a time of 4:09.03, just ahead of Brittany MacLean’s 4:10.24.

Stephanie Peters posted a 4:11.92 to finish fourth overall, while Andreina Pinto was fifth with a 4:12.51.

Sarah Henry (4:13.53), Hannah Moore (4:13.57), and Shannon Vreeland (4:15.17) wrapped up the top eight.

Men’s 400 Free:


Photo Courtesy: Donna Nelson

Walker Higgins and Jay Litherland battled for first in the men’s 400 free turning in times .43 seconds apart. Higgins got his hand to the wall first to stop the clock at a 3:55.15 over Litherland’s 3:55.58.

Adam Linker claimed third with a time of 3:57.24 and was closely followed to the wall by Chris Yeager and his time of 3:57.25.

Kevin Litherland grabbed fifth overall with a 3:57.51, while sixth went to Bryan Lee and his 3:57.86.

Robert Finke and Andrew Gemmell tied for eighth with a 4:00.11.