Jeff Huber Earns USA Diving Coaching Awards

BLOOMINGTON, Indiana, September 22. INDIANA University head diving coach Dr. Jeff Huber was honored by his peers recently with the Coach Award of Excellence and U.S. Coach of the Year awards from USA Diving.

Huber and Ohio State diving coach Vince Panzano were named co-recipients of the Coach of Excellence Award for their efforts at the AT&T National Diving Championships in Tallahassee, Fla., last month. Huber helped lead the Indiana squad to one individual national title, as well as the women's team title and combined team title. The women's squad finished with a total of 151.50 points, bolstered by Christina Loukas' national title on the 1-meter springboard. Loukas also placed second on the 3-meter, while Brittney Feldman and Heidi Mahnken captured a bronze in the synchronized platform competition. Feldman and Loukas combined for second in the synchronized 3-meter event.

Indiana's women combined with the men to take the combined team title with 186.50 points, ahead of Longhorn Aquatics at 141.50 points. As a unit the IU men placed seventh with a score of 35 points. Longhorn Aquatics took the men's team title with 141.50 points.

Huber was also awarded the Mike Peppe Award at the United States Aquatic Sports awards banquet Saturday night in Chicago. The award is presented to the outstanding senior diving coach, and was given to Huber for the second consecutive season and ninth time in his career. In addition to the titles at the AT&T National Diving Championships, under Huber's direction Loukas represented the U.S. at the World Championships, and Amy Korthauer and Feldman were on the 2009 World University Games team.

"It is a great honor to receive both the Coach of Excellence and National Coach of the Year awards," Huber said. "It is a reflection of the hard work and dedication by the IU divers as well as the generous support the program receives from so many people. I want to personally thank George and Patty Loukas, as well as other IU Diving supporters and alumni, the IU divers, our support staff, Janet Kittell, Chuck Crabb, Melanie Schneider, Todd Waikel, and, most importantly, Fred Glass. I also want to recognize the IU divers for bringing home another women's national team title and combined national team title. All of this was made possible by so many people and the fact that Indiana University values and supports a tradition of diving excellence."

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x