Irvine Novaquatics Men and Women Win 2018 Carlsbad Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: USA Swimming

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

The fourth and final session of the 2018 Speedo Sectionals at Carlsbad got underway this evening with quick swims from BREA’s Samantha Pearson in the women’s 100 free and SMST’s Ben Dillard in the men’s 200 breast.

In terms of overall score the Irvine Novaquatics women won the meet with a score of 1,789 while the NOVA men won their meet with a score of 1768.

In the women’s 1650 free Stephanie Su posted the fastest time of the meet in 16:35.32 while Liberty Williams was second 16:47.75. Turning in the third fastest time was Cathryn Salladin in 16:51.41.

The men’s 1000 free featured a win from Jude Williams in a time of 9:07.85 with NOVA distance duo of Andrew Koustik (9:12.69) and Owen Kao (9:14.29) taking second and third, respectively.

Pearson kicked off the finals session by winning the women’s 100 free in a 49.33 with NOVA’s Ayla Spitz in second with a 49.42. CITI’s Alexandra Crisera took third with a 49.77. The men’s race featured OAPB’s Spencer Daily taking the win with a 44.92. VACA’s Timothy Lee was just behind in 45.00 while CCAT’s Zachary Van Zandt swam a 45.52 for third place in the A final.

SoCal’s Samantha Shelton continued her impressive weekend with a win in the women’s 200 backstroke. Shelton threw down a 1:55.93 while CITI’s Alexandra Crisera took second in a 1:57.06. 100 free champion from earlier in the night, Pearson, took third in 1:57.46.

The men’s 200 back saw SMST’s Colby Mefford (1:47.80) and BREA’s Preston Planells (1:48.10) take 1-2 with NOVA’s Kevin Tu (1:48.30) in third.

NOVA’s Isabelle Odgers swam a 2:12.00 to earn a victory in the women’s 200 breast. Unattached Gianni Pitto swam to a second place finish in a 2:14.13 with BREA’s Jacqueline Basham finishing third with a 2:17.32.

Dillard dipped under the 2:00 barrier in the men’s 200 breast by producing a 1:58.08. CITI’s Ike Shirakata took second in 2:01.88 with NOVA’s Henry Wu swimming to a third place finish in a time of 2:02.16.

1 comment

  1. Iha Be

    Med Seif