Irish Long Course Championships: Sycerika McMahon Triples, Aisling Cooney Sets Irish Record

DUBLIN, Ireland, April 29. An Irish national record took a tumble during the first night of the Irish Long Course Championships. Meanwhile, Sycerika McMahon, 16, did some major damage to the gold-medal tally.

McMahon topped the women's 50 breast in 32.74, while Lisa Comerford took second in 35.60. Niamh Bryson earned third in 35.63. McMahon claimed a second title in the women's 200 free with a 2:00.79. She broke the Irish 17&under record of 2:02.08 she set in 2010. Melanie Nocher took second in 2:01.35, while Niamh O'Sullivan finished third in 2:03.52. McMahon completed the first-night trifecta with a winning 2:15.82 in the women's 200 fly. Lorna Cummins touched second in 2:17.75, while Gillian Gavaghan placed third in 2:23.25.

Aisling Cooney shot down the Irish record in the women's 100 back with a 1:01.76. That performance trumped her 1:02.24 from 2008. Nocher placed second in 1:02.39, while Chelsey Wilson picked up third in 1:04.89.

Michael Dawson topped the men's 50 breast in 29.54, while Emmet Crowley finished second in 30.34. Nicholas Quinn nabbed third in 30.58. Sean Leahy pocketed the men's 200 free title in 1:53.78. Curtis Coulter (1:55.28) and Seamus Stacey (1:55.71) rounded out the top three. Karl Burdis captured the men's 100 back in 56.50. Colm Dowling took second in 57.97, while Luke Fitzgibbon wound up third in 1:00.23. Niall Wynn claimed the men's 200 fly title in 2:03.57. Brendan Hyland finished a distant second in 2:07.91, while Jack Cobain placed third in 2:08.47.

In relay action, Cooney, Comerford, Emma McShane and India McGlynn won the women's 400 free relay in 4:04.57. Luke Campbell, Jordan Sloan, Michael Doggart and Mark Angus won the men's 400 free relay in 3:37.25.