IPC Swimming World Championships: Mallory Weggemann Finishes Meet With Nine World Records, Eight Gold Medals

For complete coverage of the meet, including special away-from-venue Team USA videos, check out our Event Landing Page

EINDHOVEN, The Netherlands, August 20. USA's Mallory Weggemann just missed her goal of clearing the world record in every single swim of the meet, but still finished her meet with nine world records at the IPC Swimming World Championships.

This evening, Weggemann won her seventh gold medal with a 34.85 in the women's 50 fly S7 event. That time just missed the world record of 34.47 set by Huang Min at the 2008 Paralympics. Weggemann also swum the second leg on the victorious U.S. team of Susan Beth Scott, Weggemann, Jessica Long and Ashley Owens for the win in the women's 400 medley relay – 34 Points to give Weggemann her eighth gold medal of the meet. The foursome clocked a time of 5:00.68, falling short of Great Britain's world record of 4:54.47 set last year.

Here is the laundry list of Weggemann's accomplishments this week:
400 free S7:
Gold (5:04.87) WR
200 free S7:
Split (2:27.41) WR
100 breast SB6:
Gold (1:35.51) WR
50 breast SB6:
Split (44.90) WR
50 free S7:
Gold (31.64) WR
100 back S7:
Silver (1:23.39) – Under WR, but second to WR-holder Kirsten Bruhn (1:23.19)
200 IM SM7:
Prelims (2:54.00) WR
Gold (2:48.43) WR
100 free S7:
Gold (1:08.45) WR
50 fly S7:
Gold (34.85)

400 free relay – 34 Points:
Gold (4:23.59) WR
400 medley relay – 34 Points:
Gold (5:00.68)

Australia's Peter Leek bettered the world record in the men's 100 free S8 with a time of 57.62. That performance wiped out the 57.74 set by Wang Xiaofu back in 2006.

Italy's Cecilia Camellini finished the women's 100 back S11 with the world record in a time of 1:19.78, while Japan's Rina Akiyama also cleared the former record with a second-place 1:20.26. Daniela Schulte held the previous mark with a 1:20.33 in 2009, and took third this evening in 1:20.64.

Ukraine's Ganna Ielisavetska beat a world record in the women's 100 free S2 with a time of 2:24.17. That swim erased the 2:38.93 set by Ukraine's Darya Kopayeva in 2009. Kopayeva also surpassed the former mark with a second-place 2:33.71. Ukraine's Iryna Sotska (2:35.06) and Greece's Maria Kalpakidou (2:56.40) also eclipsed the world record.

Australia's Matthew Cowdrey checked in with a 1:01.85 in the men's 100 back S9 for a world record. James Crisp of Great Britain owned the previous mark with a 1:03.32 from April 2010. He wound up in second tonight in 1:03.52.

Brazil's Andre Brasil clocked a 1:00.55 in the men's 100 back S10 to set the world record. That swim eclipsed the 1:01.03 set by Kardo Ploomipuu a year ago. Ploomipuu finished second overall tonight in 1:01.29, tying Canada's Benoit Huot.

In prelims, New Zealand's Sophie Pascoe lowered the world record in the women's 100 back S10 with a time of 1:08.42. That effort eclipsed the 1:08.58 set by Canada's Summer Ashley Mortimer in March 2010. Mortimer, however, took back her global standard the following heat with a 1:06.47. Mortimer returned in the finale to beat Pascoe, 1:06.74 to 1:07.85, but could not lower the global standard any further.

Brazil's Daniel Dias topped his own world record in the men's 100 free S5 with a time of 1:10.24. He owned the previous mark with a 1:10.56 from last year.

Belarus' Dzmitry Salei raced to a 53.15 in the men's 100 free S13 to claim the world record in the event. Charalampos Taiganidis held the former standard with a 53.37 set at the 2008 Paralympics.

USA's Jessica Long captured the women's 100 free S8 in 1:06.95, while Chian's Yang Bozun touched in 1:09.11 in the men's 100 back S11 for the win. Russia's Alexandr Nevolin-Svetov topped the men's 100 back S12 in 1:00.97, while Russia's Oxana Savchenko posted a 1:10.06 in the women's 100 back S12 for gold. Belarus' Ihar Boki won the men's 100 back S13 in 59.90, while USA's Kelley Becherer clocked a 1:09.25 to win the women's 100 back S13. Becherer followed with a winning time of 59.53 in the women's 100 free S13.

Israel's Itzhak Mamistvalov turned in a 2:21.83 for the men's 100 free S1 victory, while Russia's Dmitry Kokarev won the men's 100 free S2 in 2:16.97. South Africa's Natalie Du Toit won the women's 100 back S9 in 1:09.83. Israel's Inbal Pezaro captured the women's 100 free S5 title in 1:23.41, while Daniel Pepper took home the men's 200 free S14 in 2:02.18. The Netherlands' Marlou Van Der Kulk snagged the women's 200 free S14 crown in 2:16.35.

China's Xu Qing won the men's 50 fly S6 in 31.66, while Ukraine's Oksana Khrul took the women's 50 fly title in 38.46. China's Tian Rong topped the men's 50 fly S7 in 31.47, while Russia's Alexander Nevolin-Svetov topped the men's 100 free S12 in 53.97. Russia's Oxana Savchenko claimed the women's 100 free S12 title in 59.61. Ukraine's Dmytro Vynohradets garnered the men's 150 IM SM3 in 3:11.00, while Sweden's Jennie Ekstrom captured the women's 150 IM SM3 title in 3:34.64. New Zealand's Cameron Leslie topped the men's 150 IM SM4 in 2:33.98, while Denmark's Karina Lauridsen picked up the women's 150 IM SM4 title in 2:51.12.

Australia's Andrew Pasterfield, Matthew Cowdrey, Peter Leek and Matthew Levy won the men's 400 medley relay – 34 Points in 4:13.33.

Day Six Finals Results