Iowa Swimmers Sweep St. Petersburg Invitational

Iowa's Roman Trussov swims the breast stroke leg of the 200 yard medley relay during their meet against Michigan and Nebraska Saturday, Oct. 4, 2014 at the Campus Wellness and Recreation Center in Iowa City. (Brian Ray/

Photo Credit: Brian Ray

ST. PETERSBURG – The University of Iowa men’s and women’s swim teams each scored 126 points en route to victory at the St. Petersburg Invitational on Saturday afternoon in St. Petersburg, Fla. The Hawkeyes topped Arkansas-Little Rock, South Dakota State and Sacred Heart on the women’s side, while the men defeated South Dakota State.

Iowa Women’s Press Release

The University of Iowa women’s swim team earned a first-place finish on Saturday at the St. Petersburg Invitational in St. Petersburg, Florida. The Hawkeyes scored 126 points, topping University of Arkansas-Little Rock (80), South Dakota State University (80), and Sacred Heart University (50).

Iowa jumped out to an early lead in the 200 free relay and never looked back, claiming top finishes in all nine events. The quartet of Emma Sougstad, Taylor Flummerfelt, Allison Orvis, and Lauren Leehy paced the opening event — the 200 free relay field with a time of 1:39.25. Olivia Kabacinski, Mckenna Scheitlin, Rowan Hauber, and Tereysa Lehnertz finished second with a time of 1:39.90.

In the 800 free relay, the foursome of Becky Stoughton, Hillary Weigand, Izzie Bindseil, and Nikol Lagodzinska swam to a top finish touching in at the 7:56.52 mark.

The trio of Summer Campbell, Ashley Horodyski, and Carly O’Brien extended the lead in the 3×100 butterfly relay event. The threesome swam to a top time of 2:57.18. Lehnertz, Pamela Breitrick, and Elaine Boosalis finished second (2:59.76).

Meghan Lavelle, Maddie Bro, and Orvis shined in the 3×100 backstroke relay. The trio swam to a first-place finish with a time of 2:55.25. Hauber, Breitrick and Audrey Kumm took second touching in at the 3:01.47 mark.

In the 3×100 breaststroke relay, the threesome of Emma Sougstad, Hannah Maher, and Olivia Kabacinski swam to a first-place time of 3:24.00. Colleen Champa, She Hoyt, and Bindseil finished third touching in at the 3:29.73 mark.

The Hawkeyes dominated the 500 freestyle taking gold, silver, and bronze. The quartet of Lauren Leehy, Meghan Lavelle, Serena Wanasek, and Summer Campbell paced the field touching in with a time of 4:44.62. Scheitlin, Lehnertz, Jennifer Weigand, and Flummerfelt took second (4:46.23) and Jo Jekel, Orvis, Lagodzinska, and Maher finished third (4:51.58).

Stoughton picked up her second win on the night in the 3×500 freestyle relay. The Peoria, Illinois, native swam alongside Weigand and Bindseil. The trio touched in with a time of 5:37.08.

In the 200 medley relay, the foursome of Hauber, Hoyt, O’Brien, and Leehy swam to a first-place finish with a time of 1:51.44. Bro, Sougstad, Lehnertz, and Orvis finished second (1:51.48).

In the final race — the 400 yard freestyle relay — the Hawkeyes posted a 1-2-3 finish. The quartet of Flummerfelt, O’Brien, Sougstad, and Kabacinski took first place (3:40.16), Lagodzinska, Scheitlin, Weigand, and Lavelle finished second (3:43.06), and Serena Wanasek, Jekel, Stoughton, and Lavelle took third (3:44.08).

The Hawkeyes return to action Saturday, Jan. 17, taking on Illinois at 11 a.m. (CT) in Champaign, Illinois.

Iowa Men’s Press Release

The University of Iowa men’s swim team scored a 126-90 win over South Dakota State University on Saturday at the St. Petersburg Invitational in St. Petersburg, Florida. The Hawkeyes were dominant throughout the entire meet taking first place in all nine events.

In the 200 yard freestyle, the quartet of Joseph Halsmer, Charles Holliday, Roman Trussov, and Colter Allen put the Hawkyes in control with a first-place time of 1:24.87. Thomas Rathbun, Chris Freeman, Luke Snow, and Andrew Parker extended the lead with a first-place finish in the 800 free relay, touching in at the 7:02.68 mark.

In the 3×100 yard butterfly relay, the Hawkeyes took three of the top four spots. The trio of Jackson Allen, Tyler Nichols, and Maverick Hovey claimed the top spot with a time of 2:32.71.

Iowa’s dominance continued in the 3×100 yard backstroke relay with a one-two finish. Matthew Boyd, Andrew Parker, and Chris Freeman took gold (2:33.40), while Grant Betulius, Thomas Rathbun, and David Ernstsson finished second with a time of 2:37.80.

Trussov picked up his second win on the night as a member of the 3×100 yard breaststroke (2:54.91). The Ust-Kamenogorsk, Kazakhstan, native swam alongside Nichols and Michael Nelson.

The quartet of Ernstsson Brian Donatelli, Joseph Halsmer, and Jerzy Twarowski swam to a top finish in the 500 free relay (4:06.89). Brandon Farnum, Holliday, Freeman, and Snow took second touching in with a time of 4:11.90.

Betulius, Nichols, Hovey, and Snow shined in the 200 medley relay swimming to a first-place time in the 200 medley relay. The quartet touched in at the 1:34.81 mark. Parker, Trussov, Colter Allen and RJ Hemmingson finished second with a time of 1:34.89.

The Hawkeyes wrapped up Saturday’s competition with a win in the 400 free relay. The foursome of Allen, Twarowski, Betulius, and Kyle Gannon touched in with a time of 3:06.67.

The Hawkeyes return to action Saturday, Jan. 24, hosting Northwestern at 11 a.m. (CT) in the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center Natatorium in Iowa City.

Results: St. Petersburg Invitational