Iowa State Distance Contingent Leads to Win at Kansas Classic

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold / Aringo Photos

Iowa State Distance Contingent Leads to Win at Kansas Classic

Iowa State’s distance group powered the way to a Sunday surge in fending off the host Jayhawks to win the Kansas Classic.

The teams went back and forth over the three-day meet, Iowa State leading by two points after one day of competition and Kansas surging ahead by nine after Day 2. But a 1-2-3 finish in the mile to start Sunday’s final day led the Cyclones to a 46-point margin of victory.

Kansas Classic Team Scores

  1. Iowa State 953
  2. Kansas 907
  3. Indiana State 799
  4. Northern Iowa 532
  5. Arkansas Little Rock 264

Sydney Jackson paced the field in the 1,650 freestyle with a time of 17:01.21. Brinley Horras and Maddy Rundell followed to sweep the podium. Horras had been second in the 500 free, a spot ahead of teammate Corinne Guist. Winter Craig added a runner-up result in the 200 butterfly, with 200 individual medley winner Lucia Rizzo in third to solidify the win for the Cyclones.

The pitched battled between the teams was most pronounced in the relays. Kansas edged Iowa State by .08 seconds in the 200 free relay and by .72 seconds in the 400 medley. Iowa State turned the tables by winning the 200 medley by .04 seconds. The Cyclones had no problem in the 800 free relay, Rizzo, Horras, Guist and 200 free bronze medalist Ashley Bengston romping.

Rizzo was also second in the 400 IM. Gabrielle LePine won the 100 breast. Sophia Goushchina (100 back) and Liz Richardson (200 back) added runner-up finishes.

The backstroke events brought the nearest brushes to NCAA B cuts. Kansas’ Lezli Sisung went 54.14 in the 100 back, missing the standard by .23 seconds. Amber Finke of Northern Iowa broached within .48 seconds in the 200 back in winning in 1:57.55.

Kansas had depth on its side. Brigid Gwidt won the 400 IM and 200 breast. Claudia Dougan claimed the 200 free, .02 seconds up on teammate Ellie Wehrmann, who also was the runner-up in the 200 IM. Dougan also went 50.27 to win the 100 free with Wehrmann fourth.

All five of the schools taking part grabbed medals. Northern Iowa’s Faith Larsen won the 50 free in 23.06. The runner-up was Arkansas Little Rock’s Jaelle Carlson. Andrea Putrimas of Indiana State won the 500 free on the opening day of the meet, and teammate Margaret Gray won the 100 fly and 200 fly.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x