Indian River Cruises to 41st Men’s, 33rd Women’s NJCAA Titles

Photo Courtesy: Indian River State College

BUFFALO – Indian River State College’s dynasty continued untouched for another year as its men won a 41st straight and its women took home a 33rd consecutive title at the NJCAA Championships.

Women’s Meet

The aptly-named Tamara Miler from Monroe won the women’s 1650-yard free title in 17:01.49.  IRSC’s Hannah Lynch claimed second in 17:44.61 with teammate Hannah Cronen snaring third in 18:09.91.

IRSC went 1-2-3 in the women’s 200-yard back.  Rebecca Halfast topped the event in 2:04.06 with Kaitlyn Yearout (2:06.02) and Briana Flores (2:08.15) claiming second and third.

IRSC’s Barbara Caraballo continued her amazing weekend with a 50.71 to win the women’s 100-yard free.  Iowa Lakes’ Cheyenne Rova took second overall in 52.11 with IRSC’s Leah Sims placing third in 53.17.

IRSC’s Christina Loh dominated the women’s 200-yard breast with a time of 2:15.81, while teammate Laure Grinnell took second in 2:19.83.  Iowa Lakes’ Hannah White rounded out the top three in 2:23.93.

IRSC’s Tayla Lovemore demolished the women’s 200-yard fly finale with a 2:01.57. She won by more than 10 seconds.  Teammate Grace Lynch (2:12.20) and Iowa Lakes’ Dashley Reyes (2:20.44) placed second and third.

IRSC’s Ashley Wright won the three-meter diving title with 540.65 points.  Teammate Hunter Taff finished second with 381.50 points, while Monroe’s Kathleen Lowry picked up third with 330.00 points.

IRSC’s Tayla Lovemore (50.75), Barbara Caraballo (50.51), Leah Sims (52.45) and Rebecca Halfast (52.71) topped the women’s 400-yard free relay with a time of 3:26.42.

Iowa Lakes’ Adele Rova (54.26), Hannah White (53.17), Aunyx Ashby (55.17) and Cheyenne Rova (52.85) takes second in 3:35.45.

South Georgia’s Bonnie Brown (55.10), Caitlyn Meece (55.80), Leeanne Bagaoisan (56.26) and Carolyn Ives (52.85) finished third in 3:40.01.

Team Scores

[table “” not found /]

Men’s Meet

IRSC went 1-2 to start the night as Matt Nielsen (16:02.26) and Ronald Santos (16:04.79) battled during the men’s 1650-yard free.  Southwest Oregon’s Wyatt Engler placed third in 16:28.40.

IRSC’s Stefan Stojmenovic, who is headed to Florida State next year, popped another NJCAA record with a 1:45.19 in the men’s 200-yard back.  That performance crushed the 14-year-old record of 1:46.17 set by Matt Spicer back in 2001.

Teammates Danny Hartley (1:47.43) and Quinn Poti (1:50.66) finished second and third tonight in the 200-yard back.

IRSC’s Bryce Timonera took home the men’s 100-yard free with a time of 44.89.  Teammate Adam Wise finished second in 45.31 with Monroe’s Michael Klugo snaring third in 45.82.

IRSC smashed the 200-yard breast with a top-four sweep. Craig Emslie won in 1:58.67 with teammate Erle Craven touching just behind in 1:58.72.  Shota Nakano (2:00.90) and Serginn Marten (2:01.45) placed third and fourth.

IRSC’s Rawley Davis (1:50.85) and Brandon Thoman (1:54.53) finished first and second in the men’s 200-yard fly.  Iowa Lakes’ Paul Eliasa touched third in 1:57.71.

Indian River’s Craig Emslie (44.32), Adam Wise (44.82), Bryce Timonera (44.84) and Danny Hartley (46.15) topped the men’s 400-yard free relay in 3:00.13.  Monroe (3:07.53) and Iowa Lakes (3:10.35) rounded out the top three.

Team Scores

[table “” not found /]

2015 NJCAA Championships, Day Four – Results