Horizon League Championships Day 3 Recap: Oakland Closing In

Katie Colwell
Photo Courtesy: Oakland University Athletics / Jose Juarez

By Courtney Mykkanen, Swimming World College Intern.

After Day 3 of the Horizon League Swimming and Diving Championships, Oakland men and women hold a dominant lead after nine first-place finishes in Friday’s events: men’s and women’s 100 fly, 400 IM, 200 free, 100 breast, 100 back, 400 medley relay, and men’s 1-meter diving.

Team Scores:


1. Oakland University 520
2. Indiana University Purdue Univ 435.5
3. Cleveland State University 378.5
4. Milwaukee Panthers 347
5. Univ of Wisconsin Green Bay 217
6. Illinois at Chicago 203
7. Youngstown State University 150


1. Oakland University 600
2. Cleveland State University 445.5
3. Indiana University Purdue Univ 349
4. Illinois at Chicago 335.5
5. Univ of Wisconsin Green Bay 331
6. Milwaukee Panthers 196

Women’s 100 Fly

Cleveland State senior Molly Mcnamara and IUPUI senior Mallory Buha start off the evening with a tie for first place in a time of 53.50, also an NCAA B cut time. Green Bay’s Anna Liu touched third in a time of 54.44 with Oakland’s Susan LaGrand following closely behind for fourth (54.66).

Rounding out the heat were Cleveland State’s Cassie Oltman (55.41), IUPUI’s Carmen Escalante Ruiz (56.63), Cleveland State’s Madi Jaszcz (56.80), and her teammate Alana Cartwright (57.53).

Men’s 100 Fly

Cleveland State junior, Matthew Martin won his first individual title this meet with an NCAA B cut time of 47.41. In a close battle for second, Oakland’s Mack Flowers touched second (47.92) over his teammate Tony Eriksson (48.02).

Green Bay’s Benjamin Redman claimed fourth (48.64), just out touching Cleveland State’s Dominic Poletta (48.65). Milwaukee’s Ahmed Ghallab touched sixth place (49.17), with Cleveland State’s Bob Lenart (49.26) and Green Bay’s Riley Darling (49.53) touching seventh and eighth.

Women’s 400 IM

Oakland freshman Mady Cislo wins the event in a time of 4:23.42, dropping almost 5 seconds from her prelims swim. Milwaukee’s Carolina Matamoros finishes second (4:25.96) with Cleveland State’s Agnes Bahr (4:26.76) following closely behind.

Milwaukee’s Addison Skogman finishes fourth in a time of (4:27.51). Oakland’s Hannah Burgess (4:28.28), IUPUI’s Maureen Lingle (4:29.08), Youngstown State’s Aida Jurinovics (4:30.57), and Oakland’s Maggie Held (4:31.35) took fifth through eighth.

Men’s 400 IM

Oakland senior Patrik Lofgren finishes first in a time of 3:54.68, another solid drop from his prelims swim. Cleveland State’s Timmy Kubacki touches second in a time of 3:55.34 with Oakland’s Colton Phelps (3:57.27) and Green Bay’s Daniel Frederick (3:57.90) in a close race for third.

Milwaukee’s Patrick Kelley comes in fifth (3:58.04) over UIC’s Kyle Lewarchick (3:58.35) closely behind. Oakland’s Danylo Hrebelnyi (4:00.77) and IUPUI’s John Ragsdell (4:02.68) finish seventh and eighth.

Women’s 200 Free

UIC senior Lexie Joy picked up the 200 free title in a time of 1:47.80. IUPUI’s Meagan Ronci came in second (1:49.88) over Oakland’s Katie Colwell who touched third (1:50.58).

IUPUI sophomores Andrea Hanas (1:51.02) and Maggie Hatfield (1:51.33) had a close finish, touching fourth and fifth. Following closely were Green Bay’s Roz Stoa (1:51.76), Milwaukee’s Emma Helgeson (1:52.15), and Cleveland State’s Gabriella Marinelli (1:52.38).

Men’s 200 Free

Oakland teammates Rudy Aguilar-Fernandez (1:37.20) and Benjamin Davis (1:37.63) finish first and second place. Closely following was Cleveland State’s Jason Van Der Touw (1:37.88) and IUPUI’s Jackson Sandala (1:38.05).

The rest of the heat consisted of UIC’s Michael Tegeler (1:39.24) finishing fifth, with Cleveland State’s Erwan Mahoudo and UIC’s Jacob Cunningham tying for sixth with a time of 1:39.35, and Oakland’s Micah DeJonge (1:39.68) finishing eighth.

Women’s 100 Breast

Oakland’s Sydney McDowell swims an NCAA B cut time of 1:01.21 in her first-place finish. Milwaukee’s Jennifer Kordik comes in second (1:02.75) over IUPUI’s Aubrey Wing (1:03.31). Oakland’s Katlynn Emaus was closely following in time of 1:03.71 finishing fourth.

Rounding out the heat were Milwaukee’s Liz Simac (1:04.07), Cleveland State’s Libby Smith (1:04.21), Green Bay’s Malynn Tarczewski (1:04.44), and Cleveland State’s Alana Cartwright (1:04.83).

Men’s 100 Breast

Cleveland State’s Jared Stergar finishes first with an NCAA B cut time of 54.27. In his second event of the night, Oakland’s Tony Eriksson comes in second (54.36). In a close race for third Green Bay’s Maxwell Boehnlein (55.27) out touches Oakland’s Andrew Evans (55.30) and IUPUI’s Will Grintjes (55.45).

Right there with the rest of the field, Green Bay’s Garrett Spencer (55.69), Oakland’s Tarek Aboelenin (55.92) and Cleveland State’s Tyler Stevenson (56.10) finish sixth through eighth.

Women’s 100 Back

Oakland junior Grace Shinske touches first in a time of 54.05. Cassie Oltman takes second (54.30) for Cleveland State women. In a close finish for third, IUPUI’s Mallory Buha (54.66) finishes just ahead of Oakland’s Susan LaGrand (54.68).

Cleveland State’s Riley Drummond (55.62), Green Bay’s Helena Heuberger (55.95), Cleveland State’s Madi Jaszcz (56.38), and IUPUI’s Catrionna Bruce (1:02.56) take fifth through eighth.

Men’s 100 Back

Oakland senior Paul Huch, and yesterday’s 50 free champ, took another individual title finishing in a time of 47.41. UIC’s Daniel Sivak touches second (48.02) over Cleveland State’s Dominik Niedzialek (48.26) and Oakland’s William Gayne (48.49). The top 4 men all achieved an NCAA B cut time in this event.

UIC teammates Mitch Milosch (49.06) and Michael Tegeler (49.33) took fifth and sixth. IUPUI teammates Josh Barajas (49.59) and Riley Lohse (49.73) finished seventh and eighth.

Women’s 400 Medley Relay

Oakland women Grace Shinske, Sydney McDowell, Susan LaGrand and Katie Colwell finished first in a new Horizon League record time of 3:39.45. Cleveland State (3:42.67) finished in second, followed by IUPUI in third.

Men’s 400 Medley Relay

Oakland men William Gayne, Tony Eriksson, Mack Flowers, and Paul Huch touch first in a time of 3:12.81. Cleveland State (3:14.69) finished in second, followed by IUPUI in third.

Men’s 1-meter diving

Oakland senior Joe Smith won the 1-meter diving with a score of 370.45. Cleveland State’s Matthew Akers came in second with a score of 330.10, over UIC’s Felix Lafortune (324.05) and IUPUI’s Krisztian Somhegyi (320.45). All top 4 men scored NCAA B standards.

The rest of the final included IUPUI’s Mitchell Mastey (299.00), Cleveland State’s Curtis Roden (298.40), Oakland’s Jordan Smith (297.10), and IUPUI’s Patrick Tener (294.35).

1 comment

  1. Ursula Bowes

    Way to go Jennifer Kordik!