Horizon League Championships Day 2 Recap: Oakland Still Leads

Photo Courtesy: Oakland University Athletics

By Courtney Mykkanen, Swimming World College Intern.

After Day 2 of Horizon League Swimming and Diving Championships, Oakland men and women still lead after winning two events on the women’s side and three events for the men. Day 2 events consisted of men’s and women’s 500 free, 200 IM, 50 free, 200 free relay, and women’s 1-meter diving. 

Team Scores:


  1. Oakland University 295
  2. Indiana University Purdue Univ 235
  3. Milwaukee Panthers 195
  4. Cleveland State University 176
  5. Illinois at Chicago 150
  6. Univ of Wisconsin Green Bay 113
  7. Youngstown State University 98


  1. Oakland University 312
  2. Cleveland State University 189
  3. Indiana University Purdue Univ 177
  4. Univ of Wisconsin Green Bay 176
  5. Illinois at Chicago 170
  6. Milwaukee Panthers 114

Women’s 500 Free

IUPUI earned their second win of the meet with Meagan Ronci’s 500 free victory in a time of 4:51.66, almost 4 seconds faster than her prelim swim. Lexie Joy from UIC followed closely behind and touched  second with a time of 4:51.97. Maureen Lingle of IUPUI also swam faster in the evening moving her up two spots to finish third with a time of 4:55.65.

Oakland senior Krissy Harmon finished fourth with a time of 4:56.26. Rounding out the heat were UIC’s Christina Neri (4:57.50), IUPUI’s Olivia Treski (4:58.39), Cleveland State’s Lexie Kostelnik (4:58.81), and Milwaukee’s Addison Skogman (5:03.20).

Men’s 500 Free

With a very close race, Luke Hutchinson of UIC finishes first with a time of 4:27.43, out touching Cleveland State’s Dominik Niedzialek (4:27.47) by .04. UIC’s Hunter Crook won a close battle for third (4:28.36) over Green Bay’s Daniel Frederick (4:28.59), and Oakland Grizzlies Benjamin Davis (4:28.71), Rudy Aguilar-Fernandez (4:28.92), Micah DeJonge (4:28.95), and Danylo Hrebelnyi (4:29.45).

Women’s 200 IM

Cleveland State senior, Molly Mcnamara, picked up her first individual title for this meet touching in a time of 2:01.21. Oakland’s Sydney McDowell was second in a time of 2:02.92, followed by her teammates Grace Shinske (2:03.57), Mady Cislo (2:03.70), and Erin Donagan (2:03.88).

Cleveland State’s Agnes Bahr finishes sixth with a time of 2:04.99. Seventh and eighth place go to Milwaukee’s Jennifer Kordik (2:05.78) and Cleveland State’s Alana Cartwright (2:07.55).

Men’s 200 IM

Oakland freshman Colton Phelps finishes first by nearly half a second in a time of 1:47.79 over UIC’s Daniel Sivak (1:48.38). It was a close race for third with Cleveland State’s Jared Stergar (1:49.51) out touching Oakland’s Patrik Lofgren (1:49.52) by .01.

Oakland’s William Gayne finished in another close race for fifth (1:50.03) over IUPUI’s Josh Barajas (1:50.07). UIC’s Kyle Lewarchick (1:50.27) and Green Bay’s Ari Kissel (1:51.73) were seventh and eighth.

Women’s 50 Free

Oakland’s Katie Colwell claimed the conference title in a time of 22.86, the only swimmer under 23 seconds. Green Bay’s Ana Liu finished second (23.04) and IUPUI’s Mallory Buha finished third (23.23) in a close race over Milwaukee’s Shelby Rozeboom (23.27).

Following closely were IUPUI’s Tori Kroon (23.48), Oakland’s Amber Lefler (23.52), IUPUI’s Maggie Hatfield (23.57) and Milwaukee’s Emma Helgeson (23.70).

Men’s 50 Free

Senior Paul Huch won for the Oakland men finishing with an NCAA B cut time of 19.80. Green Bay’s Benjamin Redman finished second (20.20). In third was Oakland’s Mack Flowers (20.55) over Cleveland State’s Dominic Poletta (20.57).

Rounding out the heat were Oakland’s Joey Mangner (20.60), Oakland’s Zac Miceli (20.67), IUPUI’s Mason Jung (20.68), and Milwaukee’s Jasper Appleton (20.86).

Women’s 1-meter diving

UIC sophomore Cyndey Liebenberg won the 1-meter diving with a score of 287.95 and Oakland’s Bernie Turchi finished in second with a score of 272.95. Both scores met the NCAA B standard.

The rest of the final included IUPUI’s Carolyn Dietz (261.75), IUPUI’s Rylee Dahlman (257.00), Milwaukee’s Cassidy Pilo (250.30), Youngstown State’s Tess Weiskopf (205.20), UIC’s Natalie Williams (201.75) and Cleveland State’s Erica Henrichsen (189.45).

Women’s 200 Free Relay

Oakland’s relay consisting of Karlee Marsh, Amber Lefler, Kirstyn Abbasse, and Katie Colwell touched the wall first in a time of 1:32.94. IUPUI placed second with a time of 1:33.37, followed closely by Milwaukee finishing at 1:33.71.

Men’s 200 Free Relay

Oakland’s Mack Flowers, Joey MangnerRudy Aguilar-Fernandez, and Paul Huch finished first in a time of 1:20.15. In a close race for second, Green Bay touched in 1:21.71, over UIC (1:21.75).