Ivy League Men’s Championships: Harvard Takes Lead on Night One

Blodgett Pool is the host venue of the 2020 Championship Meet.

The men’s Ivy League swimming and diving championships kicked off tonight at Blodgett Pool on the campus of Harvard University. The host school is the defending champion, having won the last three seasons. The Crimson look to claim their 26th team title and will be challenged by Princeton, which has won eleven of the last eighteen years. Tonight’s events included the 200 medley relay and the 800 freestyle relay, both of which are timed final events.

Ivy League Championships Page

Men’s 200 Medley Relay – Timed Final

It was Columbia taking the first event of the night. The foursome of Cole Stevens (21.93), Nianguo Liu (24.19), Jonas Kistorp (20.54), and Albert Gwo (18.80) combined for a 1:25.46, setting a new pool record. Harvard’s team swam a 1:26.34 to finish second, with Cornell taking third in 1:26.64. Penn placed fourth, followed by Brown, Princeton, Yale, and Dartmouth.

200 medley relay

Men’s 800 Freestyle Relay – Timed Final

The Harvard Crimson repeated their victory in this race from 2019, though not as fast. The quartet of Mahlon Reihman (1:35.76), Corban Rawls (1:34.09), Michael Zarian (1:35.41), and Marcus Holmquist (1:35.70) finished in 6:20.96, comfortably ahead of Princeton’s 6:24.08 and Brown’s 6:25.56. Fourth place went to Yale, followed by Dartmouth, Cornell, Penn, and Columbia.

800 free relay (1-4) 800 free relay (5-8)

Team Scores Through Night One:

  1. Harvard 120
  2. Columbia 108
  3. Princeton/Brown 104
  4. Cornell 102
  5. Penn/ Yale 98
  6. Dartmouth 94