Hannah Miley Outduels Katinka Hosszu to Close Mare Nostrum Series Opener

Hannah Miley
Hannah Miley. Photo Courtesy: Ian MacNicol

The 2018 Mare Nostrum Series in Cante-en-Roussillon concluded Sunday with some strong performances, some close touch-outs and the conclusion of Missy Franklin’s first comeback meet.

Japan’s Rikako Ikee won two events, while Taylor Ruck of Canada was edged twice on Sunday.

Franklin’s comeback meet continued. In her first meet back in more than a year she made the B final in the 100 free, finishing 12th in 56.32). she also finished 18th at 1:03.48 in the 100 back prelims.

But it was a thrilling duel to conclude the meet that stole the show.

Women’s 400 IM

Britain’s Hannah Miley closed the meet with a victory in the closest race of the meet. She won the 400 IM in 4:49.43, edging Hungary’s Katinka Hosszu (4:39.46) by just three hundredths of a second.

Turkey’s Viktoria Zeynep Gunes was third in 4:39.92, followed by Britain’s Aimee Willmott (4:39.94), Spain’s Catalina Corro Lorente (4:42.45), Brooke Forde of the U.S. (4:44.01), Portugal’s Victoria Kaminskaya (4:45.75) and Czech Republic’s Barbora Zavadova (4:56.99).

Women’s 100 back

Denmark’s Mie Neilsen won the 100 back in 59.88, just ahead of Canada’s Taylor Ruck (59.97).

Russia’s Anastasia Fesikova was third (1:00.10), followed by Kira Toussaint (1:00.75) of the Netherlands, Germany’s Laura Riedemann (1:01.30), Hungary’s Katinka Hosszu (1:01.53), Canada’s Danielle Hanus (1:01.68) and Russia’s Daria Ustinova (1:01.82).

Women’s 100 Free

Rick Ikee of Japan won the 100 free in 53.10. She edged Taylor Ruck of Canada (53.13) in the race.

France’s Charlotte Bonnet was third (53.20), followed by Canada’s Kayla Sanchez (54.03) and Rebecca Smith (55.29), Britain’s Lucy Hope (55.87), Kim Busch of the Netherlands (55.90) and Britain’s Katherine Stark (56.14).

Women’s 50 Breast

In the 50 breast, Russia’s Yuliya Efimova won in 29.93, holding off Molly Hannis (30.34) of the U.S.

Japan’s Miho Teramura was third (31.18), followed by Canada’s Faith Knelson (31.36), China’s Ran Suo (31.49), Zoe Bartel (31.69) of the U.S., Hungary’s Anna Sztankovics (32.01) and Ireland’s Mona McSharry (32.02).

Men’s 50 Breast

Adam Peaty continued to own the breaststroke events. The British champion won the 50 breast in 26.73.

Japan’s Yasuhiro Koseki was second (27.19), followed by Michael Andrew (27.27) of the U.S., Russia’s Oleg Kostin (27.64), Arno Kamminga (27.74) of the Netherlands, Ireland’s Darragh Greene (27.82), Germany’s Fabian Schwingenschloegl (27.99) and Japan’s Ippei Watanabe (28.09).

Women’s 50 Fly

Japan’s Rikako Ikee dominated the field to win the 50 fly by nearly a second, winning in 25.11.

Belgium’s Kimberly Buys was second (26.04), followed by Denmark’s Pernille Blume (26.11), Poland’s Anna Dowgiert (26.32), Sweden’s Sara Junevik (26.40), Josien Wijkhuijs (26.76) of the Netherlands, Canada’s Rebecca Smith (27.14) and Hong Kong’s Kin-Lok Chan (27.17).

Men’s 50 Fly

Andrii Govorov of the Ukraine won the 50 breast in 23.04. He held off Poland’s Konrad Czerniak (23.59).

Michael Andrew of the U.S. finished third in 23.70, followed by Joeri Verlinden (24.07), Mathys Goosen (24.10) and Jesse Puts (24.21) of the Netherlands, Paraguay’s Benjamin Hockin (24.32) and Poland’s Michal Chudy (24.34).

Men’s 1500 Free

Hungary’s Gergely Gyuarta won the 1500 free in 15:10.39, holding off Japan’s Shogo Takeda (15:12.67).

Norway’s Henrik Christiansen was third in 15:14.10, followed by Poland’s Wojciech Wojdak (15:23.86), Spain’s Albert Escrits (15:25.19) and Miguel Duran (15:26.78), Poland’s Filip Zabrowksi (15:28.36) and Spain’s Marcos Gil (15:33.39).

Women’s 400 Free

Hungary’s Ajna Kesely cruised to victory in the 400 Free, winning in 4:07.69.

Russia’s Anna Egorova was second (4:09.65), followed by China’s Wenxin Bi (4:10.33), Portugal’s Diana-Margarida Duraes (4:10.86), Spain’s Ester Morillo Lopez (4:14.40), Erica Sullivan (4:16.47) of the U.S., Spain’s Jimena Perez (4:17.95) and Luxembourg’s Monique Olivier (4:18.52).

Men’s 100 Back

Australia’s Ben Treffers won the men’s 100 back in 54.64, holding off Poland’s Kacper Stokowski (55.18).

France’s Paul-Gabriel Bedel was their in 55.23, followed by Germany’s Christian Diener (55.32), Ireland’s Conor Ferguson (55.64), Hungary’s Gabor Balog (55.87), Poland’s Radoslaw Kawecki (55.96) and Bryce Medford (56.74) of the U.S.

Women’s 200 Breast

Japan’s Kanako Watanabe won the 200 breast in 2:23.64, edging Russia’s Yuliya Efimova (2:23.85).

Spain’s Marina Garcia finished third (2:27.15), followed by Denmark’s Rikke Moeller Pedersen (2:27.41), Argentina’s Julia Sebastian (2:27.58), Zoe Bartel of the U.S. (2:27.77), Britain’s Hannah Miley (2:28.63) and France’s Fantine LeSaffre (2:29.87).

Men’s 200 Breast

Russia’s Anton Chupkov won the men’s 200 breast in 2:08.81 to finish ahead of Japan’s Ippei Watanabe (2:09.13) and Yasuhiro Koseki (2:09.19).

Germany’s Marco Koch was fourth (2:09.38), followed by Arno Kamminga of the Netherlands (2:10.57), Hungary’s David Horvath (2:11.81), Sweden’s Erik Persson (2:12.68) and Britain’s Ross Murdoch (2:13.52).

Women’s 200 Fly

Hungary’s Liliana Szlaguyi won the 200 butterfly in 2:08.49, holding off Portugal’s Ana-Catarina Monteiro (2:08.76).

A trio of Hungarians — Boglarka Kapas (2:08.79), Blanka Berecz (2:09.87) and Zsuzsanna Jakabos (2:10.45) — followed.

Cassidy Bayer of the U.S. was sixth at 2:10.62, followed by China’s Chenyao Zhang (2:10.89) and Austria’s Claudia Hufnagl (2:13.51).

Men’s 200 Fly

Hungary’s Tamas Kenderesi won the 200 fly in 1:55.78, finishing well ahead of Denmark’s Victor Bregner Bromer (1:57.61).

Belgium’s Louis Croenen was third in 1:58.55, followed by Japan’s Naito Ehara (1:58.58), Switzerland’s Nils Liess (1:58.78), Japan’s Nao Horomura (1:58.82), Canada’s Mackenzie-Patrick Darragh (1:59.59) and Gunnar Bentz of the U.S. in 2:02.55.

Men’s 100 Free

Japan’s Katsumi Nakamura won the 100 free in 48.89, edging France’s Mehdy Metella (49.11) in one of the most exciting men’s races of the meet.

Poland’s Konrad Czerniak was third in 49.39, followed by France’s Jeremy Stravius (49.48), Brazil’s Bruno Fratus (49.51), Britain’s Duncan Scott (49.62), Argentina’s Frederico Grabich (49.84) and Japan’s Shinri Shioura (50.44).

Men’s 200 IM

Switzerland’s Jeremy Desplanches dominated the 200 IM to win in 1:58.02, more than three seconds ahead of the rest of the field.

Portugal’s Alexis Manacas Santos was second in 2:01.31, followed by Kieran Smith of the U.S. (2:01.64), Poland’s Michal Adam Poprawa (2:03.24), Hungary’s Adam Telegdy (2:03.59), Spain’s Joan Iluis Pons Ramon (2:05.74), Sweden’s Samuel Tornqvist (2:06.04) and Canada’s Mackenzie-Patrick Darragh (2:06.89).


  1. Halim Yussuf

    The Iron Lady showing metal fatigue.

  2. avatar

    Gergely Gyurta, Liliana Szilagyi…