Gregorio Paltrinieri, Haley Anderson Highlight US Open Water Nationals Start Lists

Photo Courtesy: Andrea Staccioli / Insidefoto / Deepbluemedia

The start lists for the 2019 US Open Water Nationals have been released with many of the world’s biggest names in open water swimming set to attend. Italian Olympic Champion Gregorio Paltrinieri is among the international names that will be in attendance at three day meet in Miami, Florida. The meet will begin May 3 with the national 10K swim at the Miami Marine Stadium.

The women’s race will begin 8 a.m. Friday morning and the men’s race will be at 10:30 a.m. Saturday morning is the 5K junior national race and the men’s race will begin at 8:00 a.m. while the women’s race will be at 8:05. Sunday morning will have the 5K national race with the men’s race beginning at 7:30 a.m. while the women’s race is at 7:35 a.m.

15 male and 15 female international athletes were allowed entry to the 5K and 10K national races.

The 2019 US Open Water Nationals will serve as the official qualification for US swimmers for the World Championships this summer. The top ten finishers in the 10K at this summer’s World Championships will automatically qualify for the Olympic Games in 2020. The top two finishers in the 10K at Nationals will qualify for the World Championships and will have the option to swim the 25K.

The top two finishers in the 5K at this year’s Open Water Nationals will automatically qualify for the 2019 World Championships in that event.


Notable American Entries (Women)

  • Haley Anderson, Trojan Swim Club
  • Mariah Denigan, Northern KY Clippers
  • Becca Mann, Unattached Sun
  • Kensey McMahon, University of Alabama
  • Hannah Moore, Wolfpack Elite
  • Erica Sullivan, Sandpipers of Nevada
  • Brooke Travis, NCAP Swim Club
  • Ashley Twichell, TAC Titans

Women’s International Entries:

  • Yara Hierath, Badger Swim Club
  • Ana Macela Cunha, Brazil
  • Oceane Peretti, France

Notable American Entries (Men)

  • Taylor Abbott, University of Tennessee
  • Michael Brinegar, Indiana University
  • Brendan Casey, Cavalier Swimming
  • Zane Grothe, Boulder City Henderson Swim Team
  • David Heron, Mission Viejo Nadadores
  • Ivan Puskovitch, Episcopal Academy Aquatic Club
  • Jordan Wilimovsky, Team Santa Monica
  • Chris Yeager, Unattached

Men’s International Entries:

  • Dominico Acerenza, Italy
  • Felix Aubock, Austria
  • Nathan Beaudin-Bolduc, Canada, (5K only)
  • Christopher Deegan, Australia
  • Eric Hedlin, Canada
  • Victor Johansson, Sweden (10K only)
  • Gordon Mason, Great Britain
  • Jon McKay, Canada
  • Gregorio Paltrinieri, Italy
  • Xavier Pimentel, Canada (5K only)
  • Rafael Ponce de Leon, Peru (5K only)
  • David Pouliot, Canada (5K only)
  • Mario Sanzullo, Italy
  • Max Sundberg, Sweden (5K only)