Grant House Downs Legendary Joe Hudepohl Meet Record at 2016 Southwest Ohio Classic

Photo Courtesy: Mike Comer/

Grant House and Madelyn Shaffer both had amazing meets at the 2016 Southwest Ohio Classic, but House had the biggest score by taking down a legendary Joe Hudepohl meet record from 1992.

Men’s Meet

Cincinnati St. Xavier’s Grant House took down a legendary meet record with a 1:37.91.  That swim crushed the 1992 mark of 1:39.43 set by former St. Xavier swimmer Joe Hudepohl. Hudepohl went on to have a tremendous swimming career, winning two Olympic gold medals in relay duty for the U.S.  He won gold on the men’s 400-meter free relay at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics and on the men’s 800-meter free relay at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics.

House also took down the meet record in the men’s 500-yard free with a 4:26.75.  That swim smashed a few seconds off David Mosko’s 2007 meet record of 4:28.29 set while swimming for St. Xavier. Moeller’s Cooper Hodge also cleared the previous mark with a 1:48.33 for second.

Hodge claimed the men’s 100-yard back title in 49.77. Hodge captured his second title with a 1:49.83 in the men’s 200-yard IM. That lowered his previous meet record of 1:50.54 from 2014. Hodge snared his third title of the meet, and another meet record, with a 3:54.07 in the men’s 400-yard IM.  That blasted the 2015 mark of 3:55.33 set by Mark Andrew.

Seven Hills’ Matthew Marquardt turned in a 1:48.29 in the men’s 200-yard backstroke to break the meet record of 1:48.40 set by St. Xavier’s Mike Andrews back in 1992.

Tipp City’s Elias Jay Bell broke the men’s 50-yard free record with a 21.19.  That swim cleared Luke Rhodenbaugh’s meet mark of 21.24 set back in 2009.

Bellbrook’s Cody Bybee set the meet record in the men’s 100-yard fly with a 49.91.  That swim clipped the 49.96 set by Josh Quallen back in 2013.

Centerville’s Chris Quarin posted a 57.71 to win the men’s 100-yard breast. Quarin then doubled up with a 2:04.24 in the men’s 200-yard breast.

Oak Hills’ Jared Cox claimed the men’s 50-yard fly in 23.87. Cox then doubled up with a 56.80 in the men’s 100-yard IM.

Vandalia Butler’s Tommy Cope raced his way to victory in the men’s 100-yard free with a 45.35.  That swim just missed Zach Apple’s 2015 meet record of 45.22.

St. Xavier’s Christian Imbus topped the men’s 1650-yard free in a time of 15:39.08, while St. Xavier’s David Limbert won the men’s 50-yard back in 26.58.

St. Xavier’s Peter Breissinger captured the men’s 50-yard breast in 28.79, while Anderson’s Hassler Carroll won the men’s 200-yard fly in 1:50.43.

In relay action, St. Xavier swept the 200 free (1:24.66), 400 free (3:07.53), 200 medley (1:33.86) and 400 medley (3:24.76) relays all in meet record time.

Piqua’s Isaac Karn won the one-meter diving title with 476.90 points.

Women’s Meet

Springfield’s Madelyn Shaffer hit the wall in 55.60 to win the women’s 100-yard fly.  That performance downed the meet record of 56.16 set by Jenny Forster back in 2005. Shaffer also captured the women’s 200-yard free title in 1:51.17. Shaffer tripled with a 2:07.08 to win the women’s 200-yard IM.

Seven Hills’ Emma Shuppert posted a 27.32 to win the women’s 50-yard back.  That swim beat the meet record of 27.50 set by St. Ursula’s Kathy Lowry back in 1995.  Shuppert took down a second meet record with a 1:00.68 in the women’s 100-yard IM.  That swim cleared the 1:01.63 set by Claire Gilmore back in 2012.

Madeira’s Emma Fortman took down a meet record in the women’s 50-yard fly with a 26.37.  That swim clipped a 1999 mark of 26.85 set by Lindsey Commons.

Centerville’s Nora Fullenkamp won the women’s 50-yard free in 23.52. Fullenkamp also topped the women’s 100-yard free in 51.20.

Springboro’s Hannah Whiteley won the women’s 100-yard back in 54.90. Whitley doubled up with a 2:01.94 in the women’s 200-yard back.

Mariemont’s Leah Dupre posted a 1:05.40 to win the women’s 100-yard breast. Dupre picked up her second win with a 2:21.39 in the 200-yard breast.

Springboro’s Sally Clough won the women’s 500-yard free in 5:01.18, while Centerville’s Liz Quarin claimed the women’s 1650-yard free title in 17:13.21.

Ursuline’s Lanna Debow captured the women’s 50-yard breast in 31.73, while North Bend Taylor’s Isabelle Murray won the women’s 200-yard fly in 2:05.31.

Seven Hills’ Lucy Callard finished first in the women’s 400-yard IM with a 4:30.36.

In relay action, Mason swept the freestyle events with a 1:37.04 in the 200 and a 3:29.61 in the 400.  Mariemont took home the medleys with a 1:47.05 in the 200 and a 3:53.30 in the 400.

Kettering Alter’s Claire Schuermann won the one-meter diving title with 488.70 points.

2016 Southwest Ohio Classic – Results

1 comment

  1. Niles Keeran

    Joe still holds the pool record at my high school pool, Coach CT Branin Natatorium in Canton, Ohio, for the 200 and 100 freestyles that in over 30 years of having the Ohio High School State Swimming & Diving Championships, not been broken.