Four Serbian Records Tumble at Serbian Open National Championships

BELGRADE, Serbia, August 6. FOUR Serbian standards fell throughout three days of competition at the Serbian Open National Championships held in Belgrade, Serbia from Aug. 3-5.

Danijela Djikanovic took down a pair of 50-meter marks for the women. First, she clocked a second-place time of 30.34 in the 50 back as she fell to Belarus' Alena Veramei, who won in 30.03. Veramei would go on to double with a 100 back win in 1:03.46.

Djikanovic also won the 50 fly and set the national record twice with a 28.25 in prelims and a 27.92 during finals.

For the men, Caba Siladi took down the 200 breast standard to win the race in 2:20.95, while Lazar Bogdanovski set the 200 back record with a second-place time of 2:05.63. He also wiped out the 400 IM junior record with a first-place 4:43.43.

Bogdanovski placed second to Sergey Pankov in the 200 back, who won in 2:05.30 as part of a triple. Pankov also touched first in the 100 back (58.57) and 200 fly (2:04.80). Ina Kapishhina completed the other triple with wins in the 50 (32.56) and 100 (1:11.17) breast as well as the 200 IM (2:18.68).

As for the rest of the women's multiple medalists, a pair of Maryias did well as Maryia Hanchar won the 50 (26.38) and 100 (57.62) free, while Maryia Padzeshvina took home the 200 (2:05.46) and 400 (4:30.89) free.

On the men's side of the meet, Stanislau Neviarouski touched first in the 50 (23.05) and 100 (49.80) free, while Viktar Vabischevich won the 50 (28.81) and 100 (1:02.90) breast. Ivan Ledjer also doubled with wins in the 50 (24.89) and 100 (54.25) fly.

Nadja Higl in the 200 breast (2:35.81), Monika Spasov in the 200 fly (2:28.38), Andrea Basaraba in the 800 free (9:20.82), Ksenia Labedzeva in the 100 fly (1:02.89), Vanja Komlenac in the 400 IM (5:18.37) and Aliaksandra Kavaleva in the 200 back (2:17.44) each claimed individual titles for the women.

Individual wins for the men came from Maxsim Khmel in the 50 back (27.34), Igor Beretic in the 200 IM (2:12.26), Sebastijan Higl in the 800 free (8:47.96), Stefan Sorak in the 400 free (4:14.54) and Radovan Siljevski in the 200 free (1:53.60).