Florida’s Marcin Cieslak Blasts 200 IM With Sizzler For Win

NCAA Championship editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Competitor Swim. Visit CompetitorSwim.com for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page. Also, make sure to check out our Facebook photo gallery for the latest images from the meet in Austin.

AUSTIN, Texas, March 27. FLORIDA’s Marcin Cieslak put together an epic swim in the men’s 200-yard IM, nearly clearing the NCAA record in the process at the NCAA Division I Men’s Championships.

Cieslak raced his way to a 1:40.58 for the win. That swim matched Michael Phelps for the third-fastest swimmer all time in the event’s history behind only Ryan Lochte (1:40.08 – American record) and Bradley Ally (1:40.49 – NCAA record). Lochte and Ally are both former Gators, making Florida the kings of the 200-yard IM with the three of the top four swimmers ever.

Georgia’s Chase Kalisz (1:41.19) placed second to move to sixth all time in the event, while Stanford’s David Nolan, the defending champion, charged to third in 1:41.38. Nolan’s been faster with a 1:41.21 to his credit when he won a year ago.

Michigan’s Kyle Whitaker (1:41.51), California’s Josh Prenot (1:41.97), Michigan’s Dylan Bosch (1:42.05), Georgia’s Nic Fink (1:43.76) and California’s Ryan Murphy (1:43.91) comprised the rest of the A finale.

That’s Florida seventh victory in the event’s history as Cieslak joined Martin Zubero (1991), Greg Burgess (1993, 1994), Lochte (2005, 2006) and Ally (2009).

Florida’s Eduardo Solaeche-Gomez (1:42.67), Indiana’s Steve Schmuhl (1:43.12), Indiana’s Cody Miller (1:43.12), Indiana’s Eric Ress (1:43.13), California’s Will Hamilton (1:43.39), Texas’ Will Licon (1:43.40), California’s Marcin Tarczynski (1:43.57) and Stanford’s Tom Kremer (1:43.79) made up the consolation heat.

1 Cieslak, Marcin SR Florida 1:41.15 1:40.58 20
r:+0.70 21.79 46.95 (25.16)
1:16.09 (29.14) 1:40.58 (24.49)
2 Kalisz, Chase SO Georgia 1:41.71 1:41.19 17
r:+0.75 22.33 47.82 (25.49)
1:16.76 (28.94) 1:41.19 (24.43)
3 Nolan, David JR Stanford 1:42.08 1:41.38 16
r:+0.72 22.26 47.84 (25.58)
1:17.11 (29.27) 1:41.38 (24.27)

Team Standings
1. Florida 87
2. Michigan 85
3. California 80
4. Texas 56
5. Georgia 44
6. Auburn 38
7. Arizona 37
8. Stanford 27
9. UNLV 26
10. USC 23

Comments Off on Florida’s Marcin Cieslak Blasts 200 IM With Sizzler For Win

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here