FINA Women’s Water Polo World Cup Opens Today

May 27, 2012; Newport Beach, CA, USA; General view of a FINA water polo Mikasa ball during the exhibition game between the Hungary and the United States at Newport Harbor high school. The United States defeated Hungary 12-9. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee/Image of Sport-USA TODAY Sports

Photo Courtesy: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

LAUSANNE, Switzerland, August 12. THE national teams of Australia, China, Hungary, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain and USA will fight for top honours in Khanty-Mansiysk (RUS) at the 16th edition of the FINA Women’s Water Polo World Cup, taking place from August 12-17, 2014.

Defending World Cup champions USA will be the team to beat in this competition, which is held every four years. Team USA’s roll of honour includes one Olympic gold medal, three FINA World Championships crowns and seven FINA World League titles. 

Among their strongest opponents, USA counts reigning World champions Spain, whose team is taking part for the first time in a World Cup. 2013 World League winner China, world number 2 Australia, Hungary and Russia, third and fourth at the FINA World Championships in Barcelona last year, are all podium contenders in Khanty-Mansiysk.

The Programme of the 2014 edition is as follows: 

Group A: Spain, Russia, China, Singapore
Group B: USA, Hungary, Australia, South Africa

Day 1 (August 12): HUN-AUS, USA-RSA, ESP-SIN, RUS-CHN
Day 2 (August 13): ESP-CHN, HUN-RSA, USA-AUS, RUS-SIN
Day 3 (August 14): HUN-USA, AUS-RSA, CHN-SIN, RUS-ESP
Day 4 (August 15): 2A-3B, 3A-2B, 1A-4B, 4A-1B 
Day 5 (August 16): Semi-final round
Day 6 (August 17): Games for places 7/8, 5/6, 3/4 and 1/2

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World. To reach our audience, contact us at