Ferry Weertman Wins RCP Tiburon Mile Ahead Of Heron, Vargas, Grothe, Twichell

Ferry Weertman. Photo Courtesy: LaPresse/ Fabio Ferrari

Loaded with some of swimming’s biggest names in distance — and some who aren’t even distance specialists — the 2018 RCP Tiburon Mile had an exciting finish with a big group of elite swimmers competing in the open water ocean race in San Francisco.

Ferry Weertman of the Netherlands, fresh off a victory in open water at the 2018 European Championships, finished first in the elite group in 21:50, finishing just one second ahead of David Heron (21:50) and two seconds ahead of Michigan’s Ricardo Vargas (21:52).

Team USA members Zane Grothe and Ashley Twichell each finished at 21:56, giving Twichell the women’s victory.
Becca Mann was next at 22:09, followed by a trio of Italians — Rachele Bruni (22:14), Martina Dememme (22:18) and Caroline Jouisse (22:46).

Alex Meyer of the U.S. was 10th (23:26).

There were plenty of non-distance and non-open water specialists that competed as well. Sprinting sensation Ranomi Kromowidjojo of the Netherlands competed in the event and finished 20th, clocking a 27:25.

There were also different divisions in the race.

Cristian Twyman won the men’s race in 25:56, finishing ahead of Michael Stokes (26:01) and Stephen Root (26:40).

The women’s race went to Lizzy Follmer, who finished in 27:12. Jesse Chamberlain was second in 27:57.

Local Morgan Schlesinger won the wet suit race in 25:45 ahead of Jane Esahak-Gage (25:53).

Check out the full results at each age group here.

1 comment