Femke Heemskerk Downs Dutch Record in 200 IM

Femke Heemskerk Pos 3 Netherlands

Photo Courtesy: Joao Marc Bosch

TILBURG – Femke Heemskerk lowered her Dutch record in the women’s 200-meter IM with a 2:06.88 for the win at the Dutch Short Course Nationals.

That swim moved her to third in the world this year behind only Katinka Hosszu (2:02.13) and Caitlin Leverenz (2:06.15), and broke the record 2:07.26 she set in Germany in a few weeks ago.  Wendy van der Zanden (2:10.39) and Marjolein Delno (2:15.47) placed second and third.

Moniek Nijhuis matched her fourth-ranked season best of 29.90 in the women’s 50-meter for the meet record tonight in the sprint breast event.  Only Alia Atkinson (29.00), Ruta Meilutyte (29.26) and Breeja Larson (29.76) have been faster so far. Anouk Elzerman placed second in 31.34 with Lia Dekker taking third in 31.58.

Ranomi Kromowidjojo threw down a 52.07 to win the women’s 100-meter free.  That’s not quite her third-ranked season best of 51.84 from a few weeks ago, but was enough to win by more than a second.  Maud van der Meer (53.53) and Esmee Vermeulen (53.94) took second and third.

Rieneke Terink topped the women’s 800-meter free in 8:27.99, while Leonie van Noort finished second in 8:45.46.  Manon Friskes snared third in 8:56.71.

Ferry Weertman edged Maarten Brzoskowski, 3:44.22 to 3:44.77, for the men’s 400-meter freestyle title.  Joost Reijns placed third in 3:48.33.

Bram Dekker took home the men’s 100-meter breast title in 1:00.17 with Lucas Greven earning second in 1:00.46.  Kasper Leeuw touched third in 1:01.01.

Mike Marissen won the men’s 200-meter IM title in 1:59.26, while Kyle Stolk set the Dutch age group record for 18 year olds with a 2:00.07 for second. Sebas van Lith wound up third in 2:00.30.

Kira Toussaint beat Maaike de Waard, 59.23 to 59.69, for the women’s 100-meter back crown.  Robin Neumann placed third in 1:01.84.

Jasper van Mierlo claimed the men’s 50-meter free title in 22.00. Tom Lommers (22.29) and Jesse Puts (22.36) took second and third.

Inge Dekker captured the women’s 200-meter fly with a 2:11.26, while Merle Verkijk placed second in 2:15.23.  Lisa Dressens touched third in 2:16.32.

Mike Marissen won the men’s 100-meter fly in 53.66 with Fabian Beimin taking second in 54.17.  Brendan Hyland snared third in 54.46.

Marco Uppelschoten posted a 1:59.70 to top the men’s 200-meter back.  Jurjen Willemsen (2:00.55) and Sebas van Lith (2:00.65) battled for second.

Results: Dutch Short Course Nationals