Femke Heemskerk Blasts 200 IM; Nicholas Dos Santos Edges Cesar Cielo

Femke Heemskerk Pos 3 Netherlands

Photo Courtesy: Joao Marc Bosch

GUARATINGUETA, Brazil, September 5. DURING the fifth night of finals at the short course Jose Finkel Trophy meet, plenty of fast times went up on the board.

Nicholas Dos Santos topped Cesar Cielo in a high-profile match-up in the men’s 50-meter fly, 22.43 to 22.46. This after Dos Santos clocked a 22.63 this morning in prelims. Dos Santos was a bit faster last year with a third-ranked 22.13 at the Beijing stop of the FINA World Cup, while Cielo would have ranked eighth in the world. Glauber Silva posted a third-place 22.88 tonight.

Femke Heemskerk dominated the women’s 200-meter IM with a meet-record 2:07.91, crushing her Dutch record of 2:09.78 from the 2008 Dutch Championships. Gabriele Goncalves finished second in 2:12.52 with Florencia Perotti placing third in 2:13.35.

Daynara De Paula won the women’s 50-meter fly with a 26.07, a bit off her 14th-ranked 25.84 from a year ago. Daiene Dias placed second in 26.38 with Daniele Jesus earning third in 26.66. Thiago Simon blazed his way to a 1:54.53 to win the men’s 200-meter IM. Henrique Rodrigues places second in 1:56.11 with Fernando Da Silva winding up third in 1:56.57.

Miguel Valenta topped the men’s 400-meter free in a meet-record 3:44.43 with Marcos Ferrari taking second in 3:46.61. Lucas Kanieski snared third in 3:47.58. Jessica De Bruine topped the women’s 400-meter free in 4:07.98 with Bruna Primati taking second in 4:08.41. Manuella Lyrio rounded out the podium in 4:09.68.

In relay action, Minas’ Carolina Bergamaschi, Roberta Albino, Manuella Lyrio and Femke Heemskerk won the women’s 400-meter free relay in 3:37.53, while Minas’ Henrique Martins, Nicolas Oliveira, Fernando Da Silva and Cesar Cielo claimed the men’s 400-meter free relay in 3:08.24.