Fast Swimming On Third Night Of Ithaca Sectionals

By Rebecca Noblett

ITHACA, New York, March 22. The third night of finals at the Speedo Ithaca Sectionals saw plenty of fast swimming and personal best times.

The Albany Starfish women (Julia Samson, Erica Askew, Susan Schwarz, Kelly Gao) started the night off with a win in the 200 medley relay, touching in 1:46.84. The Manhattan Makos (Alexa Code, Sophia Herring, Maia Hare, Gabrielle Hillis) took second with a 1:46.91. Jersey Gators (Shayna Hollander, Caroline Wilson, Julie Byrne, Emily Wilson) placed third with a time of 1:47.24.

On the men’s side, Phoenix Swimming (Joseph Turk, James Allen, Brian Poon, Yunseo Jung) won the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:33.65. New York City Aquatic Club (George Tilneac, Harry Moran, Nicholas Konovalov, David Gleason) hit the wall second in 1:33.75. The Albany Starfish (Ryan Gordon, William Matz, Miles Smachlo, Luther Gordon) clocked in at 1:34.30 for third.

Seacoast Swim Association’s Isabel Reis won the 200 fly with a time of 1:58.84. Future Virginia Cavalier Jennifer Marrkand of Patriot Swim Club took second with a 1:59.32. Priscilla Modrov of the Hauppauge Athletic Association clocked in at 2:04.11 for third.

Matthew Grauslys of Executive Swim Club posted a 1:47.83 to win the men’s 200 fly. Miles Smachlo of the Albany Starfish set a new personal best with his second place time of 1:49.29. Shawn Parkhurst of the Town of Tonawanda Titans Swim Club touched third with a time of 1:49.32.

Jinan Andrews of Phoenix Aquatic Club, who will swim at the US Air Force Academy, won the women’s 50 free with a personal best time of 23.26. Maia Hare of the Manhattan Makos touched second with a personal best of 23.84. Jersey Gators’ Caroline Wilson hit the wall third with a time of 23.89.

Hauppauge Athletic Association’s Drew Modrov won the men’s 50 free with a 20.06. New York City Aquatic Club’s David Gleason clocked in at 20.55 for second. Ryan Gordon of the Albany Starfish, who will swim for Indiana in the fall, posted a 21.15 for third.

Molly Fitzpatrick of Executive Swim Club won the women’s 200 breast with a time of 2:16.59. Fourteen-year old Margaret Aroesty of Long Beach Aquatics put up a 2:18.06 for second. Kersten Dirrane of Upper Valley Aquatic Club, who has committed to the University of South Carolina, clocked in at 2:19.23 for third.

On the men’s side, Eric Delmonte of the Portland Porpoises, a Virginia Tech recruit, won the 200 breast with a personal best time of 2:00.95. Phoenix Swimming’s Brian Poon hit the wall in a personal best 2:02.41. Charles River Aquatics’ Christopher Downing took third with a 2:03.63.

The 100 back was a close one with the top three all within half a second of each other. Jennifer Marrkand touched first in the 100 back with a time of 55.10. Linnea Lemerise of Portsmouth Swim Team placed second with a personal best of 55.43. Haylee Knight of the Weymouth Club Waves hit the wall third in 55.66, a new personal best.

Dylan Sali of Cornell University won the men’s 100 back with a time of 48.18. Central Jersey Aquatic Club’s Robert Whitacre, who will swim at Notre Dame in the fall, took second with a personal best time of 48.71. David Gleason clocked in at 49.52 for third and a new personal best.

Hannah Cox of Upper Valley Aquatic Club continued her impressive string of wins this meet in the 500 free, putting up a 4:49.17 for first. Caroline Wilson touched second in 4:55.19. Cox’s teammate Elisabeth Brechbuhl posted a personal best of 4:58.60 for third.

Fourteen-year old John Scobee of the Aquabears won the men’s 500 with a personal best time of 4:29.42. Shawn Parkhurst took second with a 4:31.47. Luke Nelson of Seacoast Swimming Association touched third with a time of 4:31.64.

The Jersey Gators women (Julia Byrne, Caroline Wilson, Emily Wilson, Shayna Hollander) won the 400 free relay with a time of 3:29.05. Central Jersey Aquatic Club (Helen Grossman, Hayley Masi, Katie Hammond, Annemarie Schnoor) claimed second with a 3:30.69. Seacoast Swimming Association (Isabel Reis, Sydnee Aubin, Emma Whall, Kyra Sarazen) clocked in at 3:31.09 for third.

Phoenix Swimming (Brian Poon, James Allen, Steven Baczek, Yunseo Jung) doubled up on relays for the night with a winning time of 3:06.12 in the 400 free relay. New York City Aquatic Club (David Gleason, Nicholas Konovalov, Andrew Raiola, George Tilneac) took second with a 3:06.58. The Town of Tonawanda Titans Swim Club (Matthew Marsh, Daniel Dirrigl, Allan Collins, Shawn Parkhurst) posted a 3:08.19 for third.