Elizabeth Beisel, Tyler Clary Claim 400 IMs at Arena Grand Prix in Minnesota (Race Videos)

Photo Courtesy: Griffin Scott

Arena Grand Prix – Minneapolis editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Arena USA. Visit ArenaUSA.com for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

MINNEAPOLIS – Elizabeth Beisel and Tyler Clary won the 400 IMs last night at the Arena Grand Prix in Minnesota. Here are all of the race videos courtesy of USA Swimming.

Women’s 400 IM

Gator’s Elizabeth Beisel put up an in-season best with a swim of 4:00.32 in the distance medley. That swim just cleared her 4:00.55 from the 2013 Ohio State Invitational, and put her in line to put up some sizzling times this December.

Stanford’s Maya DiRado touched well behind with a second-place time of 4:02.63, while California’s Caitlin Leverenz finished third in 4:03.81.

Sisters Brooke Zeiger (4:09.42) and Liz Zeiger (4:13.18) finished back-to-back in fourth and fifth.

Ruby Martin (4:15.41), Kay Sargent (4:16.95) and Breanne Siwicki (4:18.73) also swam in the A final.

Gabrielle Kopenski topped the B final in 4:16.11 with Frisco teammate Destiny Nelson placing second in 4:17.28.

Sam Harding (4:18.73), Erin Earley (4:18.97), Caroline Theil (4:19.43), Morgan Rosas (4:20.01), Nora Deleske (4:20.06) and Dannie Dilsaver (4:21.34) also vied for the consolation win.

A final

B final

C final

D final

Men’s 400 IM

In an epic heavyweight throwdown, SwimMAC’s Tyler Clary knocked off NBAC’s Conor Dwyer, 3:41.40 to 3:41.54, at the end of a difficult 200 free/400 IM double for both men.

The two battled throughout the swim, with neither swimmer being able to pull away from the other.

Wisconsin’s Michael Weiss raced to third overall in 3:46.62, with Jakub Maly taking fourth in 3:46.79.

Ryan Harty (3:51.00), Ben Walker (3:51.67), Alpkan Ornek (3:52.67) and John Bushman (3:53.53) also swam in the championship heat.

Daniel Conway garnered the B final win in 3:51.66 with Jan Petric taking second in 3:52.39. Austin Surhoff placed third in 3:53.16.

Brandon Hatanaka (3:53.20), Andrew Hartbarger (3:55.19), John Thomas Larson (3:55.50), Alex Cisneros (3:56.27) and Jon Thielen (4:00.40) finished fourth through eighth in the consolation heat.

A final

B final

C final

D final

1 comment

  1. avatar

    Jumping ahead a bit …
    What is the Masters 40-44 record for Men’s 50 yd Free? Brian Jacobson was :20.71 this morning. Seems pretty good.