Dylan Bosch Sets Up Michigan For Sixth Straight Men’s Big Ten Title

Photo Courtesy: Dave Wegiel

Leap Year Offer $44.44 For Four Years of Swimming World Total Access. That's only $11.11 per year! Click Learn More And Order Now - Offer expires at 11:59 pm, February 29th.

By Andy Ross, Big Ten Beat Writer

Dylan Bosch is the lone top seed for the Michigan Wolverines as they placed enough bodies in the finals to be able to sustain their 150 point lead. The real battle is for second as Ohio State had a slim margin after three days over Indiana. The fourth place battle is tight too as Minnesota could get pressure from Wisconsin and host Purdue.

200 Back

Bob Glover of Indiana started the day off with a 1:41.42 to lead the 200 back qualifiers. Wisconsin also started the day off well with Austin Byrd and Brett Pinfold placing second and third with Byrd at 1:41.69 and Pinfold at 1:42.38. Michigan placed two in the championship final and Ohio State put three up.

  1. Bob Glover, Indiana, 1:41.42
  2. Austin Byrd, Wisconsin, 1:41.69
  3. Brett Pinfold, Wisconsin, 1:42.38
  4. Tristan Sanders, Michigan, 1:42.49
  5. Andrew Appleby, Ohio State, 1:42.61
  6. Luke Papendick, Michigan, 1:42.88
  7. Thomas Trace, Ohio State, 1:43.02
  8. Augustus Whiteman, Ohio State, 1:43.36

100 Free

Indiana picked up another top seed with Blake Pieroni in the 100 free at 42.56. Pieroni last night won the 200 free to become the first Hoosier to do so since 1986. The Hoosiers have not had a 100 free Big Ten champ since 1996 with Sam Gasowski. Ali Khalafalla and Anze Tavcar also placed in the top eight for the Hoosiers. Michigan placed two in the top with 50 champ Paul Powers and 500 champ Anders Nielsen. Interesting to note that Nielsen is not doing the 1650 at this meet, an event he was 18th at NCAAs last year.

  1. Blake Pieroni, Indiana, 42.56
  2. Cannon Clifton, Wisconsin, 42.67
  3. Ali Khalafalla, Indiana, 42.82
  4. Paul Powers, Michigan, 42.85
  5. Anze Tavcar, Indiana, 42.95
  6. Anders Nielsen, Michigan, 43.35
  7. Bowen Becker, Minnesota, 43.43
  8. Filip Bujoczek, Purdue, 43.51

200 Breast

State rivals Purdue and Indiana hold the top four spots in the 200 breast for tonight. Marat Amaltdinov of Purdue has the top seed at 1:53.68 and Tanner Kurz of Indiana was second at 1:54.41. Kurz and Amaltdinov were second and third last year respectively behind Purdue grad Lyam Dias. Can Purdue make it back-to-back in the 200 breast or will Indiana sweep the breaststroke events? 100 champ Ian Finnerty is third seed at 1:54.43. Minnesota also picked up two huge championship finalists with Conner McHugh and Jakub Maly. With the strength that the Gophers have shown in the diving events this season, it looks like Minnesota could solidify fourth place.

  1. Marat Amaltdinov, Purdue, 1:53.68
  2. Tanner Kurz, Indiana, 1:54.41
  3. Ian Finnerty, Indiana, 1:54.43
  4. Cody Taylor, Indiana, 1:54.67
  5. DJ MacDonald, Ohio State, 1:55.25
  6. Conner McHugh, Minnesota, 1:55.47
  7. Jacob Mandli, Wisconsin, 1:55.49
  8. Jakub Maly, Minnesota, 1:55.91

200 Fly

Dylan Bosch broke Davis Tarwater’s pool record that was set in the 2004 Big Ten meet. Bosch went 1:41.49 to take the top seed. He will be joined by two other Wolverines in Peter Brumm and Evan White. Indiana had two in the A-final and Ohio State had one.

  1. Dylan Bosch, Michigan, 1:41.49
  2. Vinicius Lanza, Indiana, 1:42.77
  3. Peter Brumm, Michigan, 1:43.72
  4. Evan White, Michigan, 1:43.88
  5. Max Irwin, Indiana, 1:43.95
  6. Ching Lim, Ohio State, 1:43.98
  7. Daniel Conway, Purdue, 1:45.75
  8. Harrison Tran, Wisconsin, 1:46.05

Ups, Mids, Downs

The following are the ups, mids and downs from this morning. The teams are listed in the order of the team standings after last night.

  1. Michigan, 7, 8, 2
  2. Ohio State, 5, 7, 4
  3. Indiana, 9, 2, 3
  4. Minnesota, 3, 3, 3
  5. Wisconsin, 5, 2, 3
  6. Purdue, 3, 2, 6
  7. Iowa, 0, 5, 2
  8. Northwestern, 0, 2, 4
  9. Penn State, 0, 0, 4
  10. Michigan State, 0, 1, 1

Diving and the 1650 have not been accounted for yet. Michigan is in a good position to win its sixth straight conference crown. Indiana had the most A-finalists, but Ohio State has the most B-finalists. Will those cancel out? The Buckeyes have one of the best divers in the conference in Colin Zheng. Minnesota has also had a lot of diving points thanks to former USA Diving Coach Wenbo Chen. Purdue also has a large amount of C-finalists and those points might be enough to catch Wisconsin. But the Badgers have one of the best milers in Matt Hutchins and Purdue has two really good divers that could place in the top eight. Only time will tell how the teams will end up.

2016 Big Ten Conference Men’s Championships Day 4 Prelims – Results

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x