Daiya Seto Wins Gold In 200 Fly To Delight Of Tokyo Crowd

Photo Courtesy: Melissa Lundie

Editorial content for the 2018 Pan Pacific Championship coverage is sponsored by TritonWear. Visit TritonWear.com for more information on our sponsor. For full Swimming World coverage, check event coverage page. <script type="text/javascript" src="https://ads.swimmingworldmagazine.com/absolutebm.aspx?b=1333"></script>

One of Japan’s biggest stars in the sport of swimming, Daiya Seto, pleased the Tokyo crowd on Friday night with a gold medal in the 200 fly final. Seto took it out hard and held off a strong push from the field as Seto won the gold with a 1:54.34.

Seto was off his best time of 1:54.03 from last year’s World Championships.

Seto was one of two swimmers under 1:55 in the final as Brazil’s Leonardo De Deus finished with the silver medal at 1:54.89. It is not a Brazilian Record for the veteran but he looked rather happy with that medal, celebrating on the lane line. He moved up to eighth in the world rankings with that swim.

American Zach Harting finished with the bronze medal after being in last place at the 100, and seventh at the 150. Harting had an incredible finish as he finished in third at 1:55.05, his best time. He lowered his 1:55.11 from Nationals and he will represent Team USA next summer at World Championships in that event, joining Justin Wright thanks to his swim at Nationals.

The other American in the final was Jack Conger, who faded badly over the second half and finished seventh at 1:56.83. He will not swim next summer at Worlds in this event despite being faster than Wright from the B-Final (1:57.27).

Australia’s David Morgan (1:55.82), Canada’s Mack Darragh (1:56.27), Japan’s Yuya Yajima (1:56.33) and New Zealand’s Lewis Clareburt (1:57.37) also competed in the A-Final.

2018 World Rankings:

  1. Kristof Milak, HUN, 1:52.71
  2. Nao Horomura, JPN, 1:53.79
  3. Chad Le Clos, RSA, 1:54.00
  4. Tamas Kenderesi, HUN, 1:54.14
  5. Daiya Seto, JPN, 1:54.34
  6. Justin Wright, USA, 1:54.63
  7. Yuya Yajima, JPN, 1:54.72
  8. Leonardo De Deus, BRA, 1:54.89

Photo Courtesy: