Cunha, Hedel, Meyer, Rybarova All Winners at FINA Open Water in Lac Magog

Photo by Griffin Scott

LAUSANNE, Switzerland, August 2. CLOSE finishes and intense battles were on display in Lac Magog (CAN) during the fifth stages of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup and FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2014, on August 1 and 2, respectively.

On Friday (August 1), 11 women and 25 men from 12 countries took the departure in the 10km race. Alex Meyer (USA) took out the men’s race by the slimmest of margin, 27 hundredths of a second, ahead of German great Thomas Lurz, who already claimed two podium finishes this season. Meyer clocked 1h55m10s63 against Lurz’ 1h55m10s90. Brazil’s Alan do Carmo (second in Setubal, Race 3) was third in 1h55m12s94. 

Among women, Brazil’s Ana Marcela Cunha, 2013 World silver medallist and two-time winner of the 10km series, continued her dominance, claiming a fifth medal out of five races. Powerful Cunha touched first in 2h06m41s83. Chinese newcomer Yu Shi finished second in 2h06m42s70 while Argentina’s Cecilia Biagioli, whose last appearance on a World Cup podium was in 2011, took the bronze after a 2h06m43s94 effort.

On Saturday (August 2), a total 11 men and 8 women braved the 34km race. Frenchman Joanes Hedel emerged victorious in 7h31m30s, edging Argentina’s Damian Blaum (third in Lac St-Jean, Race 4) by 10 seconds. After a disappointing fourth place in Race 4 last week, Evgenij Pop Acev of Macedonia crossed the finish line a mere two seconds later to secure the bronze.

Silvie Rybarova (CZE) was the best among women, outrunning Pilar Geijo (ARG) for the gold in a time of 7h41m09s. Rybarova and Geijo are in contention for the series’ top spot this year, having both claimed four medals so far. Spain’s Esther Nunez Morera (third in Race 4), earned another bronze, clocking 7h45m18s.

FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2014 calendar
Race 1: February 1 in Viedma (ARG)
Race 2: April 5 in Cancun (MEX)
Race 3: June 28 in Setubal (POR)
Race 4: July 24 in Lac St. Jean (CAN)
Race 5: August 1 in Lac Magog (CAN)
NEXT RACE: August 9 in Lac Megantic (CAN)
Race 7: October 12 in Chun’an (CHN)
Race 8: October 18 in Hong Kong (HKG)

FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2014 calendar
Race 1: February 2 in Santa Fe-Coronda (ARG, 57km)
Race 2: February 9 in Hernandarias-Parana (ARG, 88km)
Race 3: March 29 in Cancun (MEX, 15km)
Race 4: July 26 in Lac St-Jean (CAN, 32km)
Race 5: August 2 in Lac Magog (CAN, 34km)
NEXT RACE: August 23 in Ohrid Lake (MKD, 33km)
Race 7: September 7 in Capri-Napoli (ITA, 36km)

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World. To reach our audience, contact us at