CSCAA Awards: Kate Douglass, Leon Marchand Lead Year End Honorees

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Virginia head coach Todd DeSorbo and junior Kate Douglass picked up top honors from the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) on Monday (March 28).

DeSorbo was named the 2022 CSCAA Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season after leading UVA to back-to-back national championships. The Cavaliers won 11 of 18 swimming events, set five American records and three UVA records during its title run. DeSorbo saw the Cavalier women win four of the five relay titles and Douglass and Alex Walsh each won three individual titles. UVA also picked up five second-place finishes.

With three individual NCAA titles and four relay wins, Douglass was named the 2022 CSCAA Women’s Swimmer of the Meet. The Pelham, N.Y., native set three American records in each of her individual wins. Douglass won the 50-yard freestyle, 100-yard butterfly and 200-yard backstroke, making it three wins in three different strokes and three different distances. She also swam on the NCAA Champion 200 free relay, 200 medley relay, 400 free relay and 400 medley relay.

Along with DeSorbo and Douglass, 12 women’s swimmers and 10 men’s swimmers earned All-America honors at the 2022 NCAA Championships. The women collected 48 total All-America honors and the men grabbed 27 All-America honors.

Indiana’s Tarrin Gilliland was selected as CSCAA Division I Women’s Diver-of-the-Year. Gilliland captured the Platform event and was one of just two divers (along with Arizona’s Delaney Schnell) to earn first-team honors in all three diving events.

In addition to coaches’ ballots, Swimmer and Diver-of-the-Year candidates could earn a vote through public balloting on Instagram. As with the coaches, Kate Douglass was the fan-favorite with 56% of the 1,686 votes, followed by NC State’s Katharine Berkoff (26%), and Virginia’s Alex Walsh (18%). All three set American and NCAA records. Among divers, Mia Valee of Miami (FL) edged Gilliland for the public ballot. Both collected 32% of the 1,824 votes with Minnesota’s Sarah Bacon and Arizona’s Delaney Schnell capturing 24% and 11% respectively.

California’s Dave Durden was named CSCAA Men’s Division I Coach-of-the-Year for the sixth time in his career. Texas A&M’s Jay Lerew was voted CSCAA Men’s Division I Diving Coach-of-the-Year for the first time in his career. Lerew was previously named CSCAA Women’s Diving Coach-of-the-Year in 2012.

Arizona State’s Leon Marchand was selected CSCAA Division I Swimmer-of-the-Year honors. following victories in the 200 IM and 200 breaststroke. Texas A&M’s Kurtis Mathew was named CSCAA Division I Men’s Diver-of-the-Year following a sweep of both one and three-meter events.

In addition to coaches’ ballots, Swimmer and Diver-of-the-Year candidates could earn a vote through public balloting on Instagram. As with the coaches, Mathew was the fan-favorite with 58% of the 1,415 votes, followed by Indiana’s Andrew Capobianco with 29%. Among swimmers, LSU’s Brooks Curry earned the public ballot, earning 55% of the 1,517 votes, with Marchand receiving 35%.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Karyn Maki
1 year ago

I thought she won the 200 breast? Regan Smith won the 200 back.