CSCAA Awards: Dressel, Looze Take Swimming Accolades

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Editorial content for the 2018 NCAA DI Championship coverage is sponsored by TritonWear. Visit for more information on our sponsor. For full Swimming World coverage, check event coverage page.

After the jaw-dropping, record-breaking week that was the 2018 Division I men’s NCAA championships, the College Swimming Coaches Association of America awards were released.

CSCAA Division I Swimmer of the Year

Caeleb Dressel, Florida

Dressel, to no one’s surprise, earned this award by virtue of his marvelous performance this week. Dressel added a full-slate of brand new accolades with each victory.

The Gator senior’s 50 free had it’s own historical significance with it marking Dressel as the first man to ever break 18-seconds in a 50 free, from a flat-start.

Dressel’s 42.80 to win the 100 fly would make him the first man to get under 43-seconds in the event, making him the new American and NCAA record holder by a large margin.

His 100 free had, at least, equally as much historical significance with him being the first man to swim the event under 40-seconds with his 39.90.

CSCAA Division I Swimming Coach of the Year

Ray Looze, Indiana

In his 13th year at Indiana, Looze has guided the men’s team to far past expectations. A third place finish behind the two teams who have traded 1-2 finishes in the NCAA team title competition for the past eight years is no slouch performance.

Add the impressive team finish to Ian Finnerty‘s American record and victory in the 100 breast and his win in the 200 distance, along with Blake Peroni‘s relay contributions and runner-up finish in the 200 free and you have team coach by a man who’s worthy of such an award.

CSCAA Division I Diver of the Year

Colin Zeng, Tennessee
Zeng not only won the platform event with a score of 466.35, but he also finished second in the 3-meter event and fourth in the 1-meter event.
The Tennessee freshman succeeded in making his mark at the national level by placing himself near elite NCAA divers like Indiana’s Michael Hixon and Purdue’s Steele Johnson.

CSCAA Division I Diving Coach of the Year

Drew Johansen, Indiana
Johansen led the Hoosier divers to scoring major points towards the overall team score.
The Hoosiers had three finalists in each the 1-meter (two A-finalists, one B-finalist) and 3-meter events (three A finalists) and one finalist on the platform event.
Johansen guided senior Michael Hixon to a win in the 1-meter event with a score of 464.40.
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
4 years ago

Congrats to Dressel for an epic performance, a well deserved recognition.