China Dominates FINA Diving World Series Stop in London

LAUSANNE, Switzerland, April 28. CHINESE divers exhibited their prowess during the third leg of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series at the London Aquatics Centre on April 25-27, pocketing all eight titles at stake.

In the men’s individual events, reigning World champion He Chong claimed the 3m springboard gold, scoring a total 559.00 points. 2012 Olympic champion Illya Zakharov of Russia came second while compatriot Evgeny Kuznetsov, 2013 World silver medallist, settled for the bronze. In the 10m platform, Yang Jian obtained his first podium appearance in a FINA competition, beating teammate Chen Aisen (second) and Oleksandr Bondar of Ukraine (third) with a gruelling score of 616.50. 2012 Olympic champion David Boudia (USA) placed fourth.

Among women, current World champion He Zi repeated her gold from the Dubai stop in the 3m springboard, edging teammate Wang Han just by 1.15 points. Canadian Pamela Ware, 2013 World bronze medallist, completed the podium. In the 10m platform, Olympic champion Chen Ruolin remained untouchable, adding another gold to her name with a total 400.55 points. After placing fifth in Beijing and fourth in Dubai, Meaghan Benfeito (CAN) produced a nice result in London with a silver-medal finish ahead of Olympic bronze medallist Pandelela Rinong Pamg (MAS).

3m springboard: 1. Chong He (CHN) 559.00; 2. Illya Zakharov (RUS) 536.15; 3. Evgeny Kuznetsov (RUS) 523.20
10m platform: 1. Yang Jian (CHN) 616.50; 2. Chen Aisen (CHN) 553.25; 3. Oleksandr Bondar (UKR) 549.55
3m synchro: 1. He Chong / Qin Kai (CHN) 469.41; 2. Illya Kvasha/Oleksandr Gorshkovozov (UKR) 443.43; 3. Evgeny Kuznetsov / Illya Zakharov (RUS) 442.62
10m synchro: 1. Yang Jian/Chen Aisen (CHN) 479.13; 2. Oleksandr Bondar/Maxym Dolgov (UKR) 448.26; 3. Patrick Hausding / Sascha Klein (GER) 425.82

3m springboard: 1. He Zi (CHN) 360.15; 2. Wang Han (CHN) 359.00 3. Pamela Ware (CAN) 335.25
10m platform: 1. Chen Ruolin (CHN) 400.55; 2. Meaghan Benfeito (CAN) 394.75; 3. Pandelela Rinong Pamg (MAS) 380.70
3m synchro: 1. Shi Tingmao/Wu Minxia (CHN) 332.40; 2. Tania Cagnotto/Francesca Dallape (ITA) 306.90; 3. Hannah Starling / Rebecca Gallantree (GBR) 302.88
10m synchro: 1. Chen Ruolin/Liu Huixia (CHN) 334.14; 2. Sarah Barrow/Tonia Couch (GBR) 321.24; 3. Meaghan Benfeito / Roseline Filion (CAN) 316.11

The FINA/NVC Diving World Series continues in Moscow (RUS) on 2-4 May, 2014.