Charlotte Janelle Overturns 27-Year-Old Diving Record At 2016 Maine High School State Class A Championships

Photo Courtesy: Swimming World

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The girls of Brunswick High School took home the state title at the 2016 Maine High School State Class A Championships with a total of 289 points. Second place went to Scarborough High School (256 points), while Cheverus High School rounded out the top three with a total of 251 points.

Brunswick’s Caitlin Tycz dashed ahead of the competition in the 200 IM, claiming the state title in a final time of 2:06.23. Second in the event was Scarborough’s Charlotte Pratt with a time of 2:13.89, while Caroline Arpin of Cheverus was third with a 2:15.41.

Abby Longstaff of Cheverus grabbed first in the 50 free with a time of 24.40. Emma Blair of Brunswick posted a time of 24.63 for second. The two were the only athletes under the 25-second mark.

Charlotte Janelle of Falmouth turned in a new meet record in 1-meter diving. The senior accumulated a total of 417.40 points to overturn the 27-year-old record of 415.70 set in 1989 by Stacy Cooper.

Tycz returned in the 100 fly to deliver a stunning first place finish along with new state and meet records. The junior finished in a sizzling time of 53.32 to down Emma Waddell’s 2014 records of 54.49.

Elaine Dudley of MASS finished first in the 100 free with a time of 53.80, touching 1.24 seconds ahead of the competition. Blair took second in the event with a time of 55.04, while third went to Scarborough’s Hannah Griffin (56.14).

Brunswick’s 200 free relay team of Blair (25.31), Lynsie Russell (25.45), Lexi Stevenson (26.51), and Tycz (23.48) turned in a final time of 1:40.75 to claim first by more than four seconds.

Abby Longstaff of Cheverus neared the state record of 57.40 in the 100 back finishing with a time of 57.88.

It was a close race in the 100 breaststroke with the top three finishers posting times within .16 seconds of one another. Arpin got her hands on the wall first, stopping the clock at a time of 1:10.76. Scarborough’s Pratt took second with a time of 1:10.81, while Brooke Cloutier of LEW was a close third at 1:10.92.

Brunswick delivered a new state record in the 400 free relay. The relay team of Blair (54.75), Russell (55.29), Alex Morse (58.00), and Tycz (51.06) turned in a combined time of 3:39.10 to post a new record.

On the boys side it was Cheverus High School that took home the state title with a total of 339.5 points. In second was Brunswick High School with 275 points, while third went to Bangor High School (207.5).

Michael O’Donovan of Cheverus turned in a scorching 1:43.50 to win the 200 free by more than five seconds. The senior from Cheverus would later add a win in the 500 free with a final time of 4:41.42, finishing more than six seconds ahead of the competition.

Nate Samson of Brunswick tied the state record in the boys 50 free with a time of 21.41. He now shares the record with Evan Long who originally posted a 21.41 in 2013. Samson collected another win in the 100 fly, posting a first place finish of 51.04. Cheverus teammates Jacob Griffin (53.37) and Kevin Kane (53.44) finished second and third respectively.

Kyle Adams of Bangor dominated the competition in the 1-meter diving, finishing first with a total of 449.65 points.

Cheverus knocked down another state record in the 200 free relay. The relay team of Griffin (22.35), Kane (22.13), O’Donovan (22.31), and Moore (21.42) posted a combined time of 1:28.21 to better the former record of 1:29.08 from 2000 by close to a full second.

Colby Prouty of Bangor lowered the state and meet record in the 100 breaststroke by .30 seconds to a 57.31. The former record of 57.61 was set in 2014 by Eric Delmonte. 

Other Winners:

  • Elaine Dudley, MASS– G 200 Free (1:56.49)
  • Lynsie Russell, BRUNS–  G 500 Free (5:17.74)
  • Colby Prouty, BANG– B 200 IM (1:56.90)
  • Shane Moore, CHEV– B 100 Free (47.19)
  • Josh Labrecque, WIND– B 100 Back (56.05)