Canadian World Championships Trials: Katerine Savard Sets National Record, Rebecca Ejdervik Posts World Best

VICTORIA, British Columbia, April 1. THE fast swimming kept on coming at the Canadian World Championships Trials held in Victoria. The long course meter format meet produced another national standard, and a world best.

Katerine Savard crushed the national record in the women's 100 fly with a 57.97. That performance eclipsed the 58.67 set by Audrey Lacroix back in 2009, and pushed Savard to fifth in the world. Lacroix turned in a second-place 59.42 tonight, while Noemie Thomas placed third in 59.73.

Jillian Tyler vaulted into a seventh-ranked tie in the women's 50 breast world rankings with a 31.55 for the win, while Tera Van Beilen touched second in 31.64 for 10th in the world. Allison Long grabbed 11th in the world with a third-place 31.70. Meanwhile, Rebecca Ejdervik ripped off the best time in the world with a sterling time of 31.06 in prelims. She then won the B final in 31.56.

Julia Wilkinson just missed setting another Canadian record this meet with a winning 1:00.39 in the women's 100 back. That effort just missed the national mark of 1:00.21 set by Katy Murdoch back in 2009. The time moved Wilkinson to fifth in the world rankings. Sinead Russell placed second in 1:00.76, while Dominique Bouchard finished third in 1:01.02. Murdoch, notably, wound up fourth in 1:01.89.

Joe Bartoch closed the curtain on the night with a winning time of 52.95 in the men's 100 fly. He moved up to eighth in the world rankings with the swim. Stefan Hirniak (54.20) and Zack Chetrat (54.31) placed second and third.

Samantha Cheverton jumped into the top 15 in the world in the women's 200 free with a 1:58.80 for the win. Barbara Jardin finished second in 1:59.25, while Brittany MacLean picked up third in 1:59.44.

Colin Russell tied for 15th in the world rankings with a 1:49.18 for the men's 200 victory. Chad Bobrosky touched second in 1:49.34, while Blake Worsley completed a 1:49 top-three with a third-place 1:49.84.

Warren Barnes captured the men's 50 breast title in 28.18, while Scott Dickens took second in 28.32. Richard Funk completed the top three in 28.57. Tobias Oriwol won the men's 100 back in 55.06, while Matt Hawes tied Charles Francis for second with matching 55.10s. Guy Barnea posted a 55.05 in prelims, but ended up in the B final as an international swimmer. He then won the consolation heat with a 55.45.