Canadian World Championship Trials: Jillian Tyler, Brent Hayden Perform Well

VICTORIA, British Columbia, March 31. THE second evening of the Canadian World Championships Trials produced several more world-ranked long course times out of Victoria.

Shortly after a successful meet at the NCAA Division I Women's Championships, Jillian Tyler walked away with the 100 breast title in 1:07.56. That effort jumped her to fifth in the world rankings. Tianna Rissling placed second in 1:07.90 for sixth in the world, while Martha McCabe finished third in 1:08.10.

Brent Hayden charged into sixth in the world in the men's 100 free with a triumphant time of 48.83. Colin Russell touched second overall in 49.73 after posting a 49.69 in prelims. Dominique Massie-Martel snatched third in 50.45.

A trio of 1:01s went up on the scoreboard in the men's 100 breast finale. Scott Dickens won in 1:01.63, while Mike Brown (1:01.70) and Richard Funk (1:01.91) took second and third. Damir Dugonjic threw down a 1:01.41 in the B final for the win to move to 11th in the world rankings.

Alexa Komarnycky nabbed the women's 400 IM title in a touch-out victory over training partner Stephanie Horner, 4:43.53 to 4:43.89. Karyn Jewell wound up third overall in 4:45.64. Notably, Sarah Henry won the B final in 4:45.04 after qualifying in 4:44.39. International swimmers are unable to swim in the A final. Henry's prelim time pushed her to 12th in the world rankings.

Julia Wilkinson jumped into the top 15 in the world in the women's 100 free with a winning 54.93. Victoria Poon placed second in 55.11, while Chantal Vanlandeghem finished third in 55.15.

Katerine Savard checked into the top 15 in the world herself in the women's 50 fly. She clocked a 26.96, nearly clearing Victoria Poon's national record of 26.71 set in 2009. Paige Miller picked up second in 27.10, while Carol Kuczynski posted a 27.27 to finish third.

Andrew Ford captured the men's 400 IM crown in 4:20.48, while Jordan Hartney earned second din 4:23.43. Brayden Salmon completed the top three in 4:25.98. Joe Bartoch claimed the men's 50 fly in 24.38, while Kelly Aspinall took second in 24.47. Mike Smerek snagged third in 24.61. Notably, Will Copeland won the B final in 24.49.

Sherry Liu topped the women's 1500 free in 16:52.17, while Jewell took second in 16:53.25. Zsofi Balazs placed third in 16:55.68.