Canadian Long Course Nationals: Savannah King, Sinead Russell, Audrey Lacroix Break Top 25

Special thanks to Swimming Canada for providing video footage from meet. Check out the Event Landing Page for that great content!

VICTORIA, British Columbia, July 28. A trio of World Top 25 times went up on the scoreboard during the first evening of the Canadian Long Course Nationals.

Savannah King pocketed the women's 800 free victory with an 8:36.21. She vaulted to 23rd in the world in the event behind France's Camille Muffat (8:36.20). Lindsay Seeman took second in 8:36.78, while Brittany MacLean placed third in 8:49.96.

Sinead Russell, 17, snatched the women's 100 back crown in 1:01.05. That swim propelled her to 24th in the world, just behind Presley Bard of the U.S. (1:01.03). Katy Murdoch took second in 1:01.46, while MacLean garnered third in 1:02.29 for her second podium of the night. Meanwhile, swimming in the B final as an international swimmer, Australia's Rachel Goh won in 1:01.84.

Audrey Lacroix followed in the women's 200 fly with a 2:09.89. That performance moved her up to 24th in the world behind Italy's Caterina Giacchetti (2:09.83). MacKenzie Downing finished second in 2:10.10, while Katerine Savard placed third in 2:10.80.

Jake Tapp snared the men's 100 back title in 55.13, while Tobias Oriwol earned second in 55.25. Matt Hawes completed the podium with a third-place 55.97. Kier Matiland won the men's 1500 free in 15:22.54, while Sean Penhale (15:30.16) and Craig Dagnall (15:38.21) placed second and third.

Stefan Hirniak clinched the men's 200 fly in 1:59.80. Jordan Hartney finished second in 2:00.53, while Zack Chetrat rounded out the top three in 2:01.32. Australia's Grant Irvine had the fastest swim of the evening with a 1:59.19 to win the B final over teammate Travis Nederpelt's 1:59.40.

Victoria Poon opened the night with a winning effort of 27.21 in the women's 50 fly, while Caroline Kuczynski placed second in 27.29. Sandrine Mainville wound up third in 27.43. Kelly Aspinall topped the men's 50 fly in 24.43, while Joe Bartoch took second in 24.80. Philippe Bastien finished third in 25.20. France's Florent Manaudou touched in 24.32 to win the B final, while Australia's Lachlan Staples posted a 24.90.

Julia Wilkinson finished just outside of the world top 25 this year with a 1:58.95 for the women's 200 free victory. Barbara Jardin placed second in 1:59.13, while Samantha Cheverton took third in 1:59.49. Australia's Merindah Dingjan won the B final in 1:59.14. Brent Hayden claimed the men's 200 free in 1:49.13. Brian Johns touched second in 1:49.38, while Blake Worsley earned third in 1:49.72.