Cammile Adams Doubles at Speedo Sectionals in College Station

Cammile Adams
Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

SwimMAC’s Cammile Adams doubled up back at her old stomping grounds in College Station as the former A&M Aggie picked up a pair of wins tonight at the Speedo Sectionals in College Station. This meet held prelims in short course yards before switching over to long course meters at night.

Adams first chased down the women’s 100-meter fly with a time of 59.40, just beating A&M’s Sarah Gibson. Gibson clocked a second-place 59.50.  Longhorn’s Victoria Edwards posted a third-place 1:00.43, while Sweden’s Therese Alshammar finished fourth in 1:01.46.

Adams doubled up with a 4:41.08 to win the women’s 400-meter IM.  That’s among the top 15 in the world so far this year.  Nitro’s Regan Barney placed second in 4:50.13 with Metro’s Lindsay Looney taking third in 4:54.33.

Aggie’s Sarah Henry won the women’s 200-meter free in a time of 2:00.56. That’s a pretty strong time for this point in the year for Henry, considering her best non-taper meet time was a 2:00.10 from the Texas Senior Circuit last year.  PASA’s Isabelle Henig took second in 2:03.93 with Texas Ford’s Gabrielle Kopenski earning third in 2:04.87.

Notably, from a freestyle start, SwimMAC’s Kirsty Coventry swam a 2:08.86 after flipping over to backstroke the rest of the way.  That was good enough for 15th overall, and while a direct comparison cannot be made with a backstroke start event, that’s still among the top 200 backs in the world this year.

NYAC’s Breeja Larson turned in a winning effort of 2:25.70 in the women’s 200-meter breast. That’s among the top 10 in the world this year. A&M’s Esther Gonzalez Medina took second in 2:31.38 with Franko Jonker turning in a third-place 2:31.41 unattached.

Nitro’s Sean Grieshop hit the wall in 1:52.50 to win the men’s 200-meter free by a slim margin. Longhorn’s Grant Reed picked up second overall in 1:52.76 with Lost Creek’s Nicholas Carlson earning third in 1:52.77. Grieshop also doubled up with a 4:23.15 in the men’s 400-meter IM.  BBSC’s Hudson Smith (4:32.51) and Nitro’s Erik Frank (4:33.19) wound up second and third.

PASA’s BJ Johnson took home the men’s 200-meter breast title in 2:14.01.  Austin Swim’s Ryan Fisher finished second in 2:16.14 with PASA’s Jeremy Babinet earning third in 2:17.11.

Sierra Marlins’ Bryce Mefford posted a 54.68 to win the men’s 100-meter fly.  A&M’s Turker Ayar snared second in 54.79 with teammate Jose Martinez placing third in 55.39.

Results only available in Meet Mobile. 

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x