Brian Loeffler Honored As Paralympic Coach Of The Year By USOC

The United States Olympic Committee today announced its annual award recipients for 2014 national coaches of the year. On the Olympic side, Skogen Sprang (freestyle skiing; Olympic Valley, Calif.) was recognized as National Coach of the Year, while Brian Loeffler (Paralympic swimming; Baltimore, Md.) took home Paralympic National Coach of the Year honors. Additionally, George Ryals (archery; Monroe, Ga.) was named Developmental Coach of the Year, Kathleen Stevenson (archery; Nichols Hills, Okla.) was selected Volunteer Coach of the Year and Dave Hamilton (field hockey; Lancaster, Pa.) took home the Doc Councilman Science Award.

“We are honored to recognize this distinguished group of coaches, who have dedicated their lives to helping American athletes realize their full potential and achieve excellence, both on and off the field of play,” said Alan Ashley, USOC chief of sport performance. “Team USA is stronger because of their positive influence and tireless commitment to our athletes, and we are proud to honor them as our coaches of the year.”

National Governing Bodies selected their 2014 Coaches of the Year as part of the USOC Coach of the Year Recognition Program. Three national finalists in each category were selected by a panel of coaching and sport education professionals.

Paralympic National Coach of the Year – Brian Loeffler, U.S. Paralympic Swimming
In 2014, Loeffler guided four athletes to set one world and 10 American records. He has played a key role in developing Paralympic champions Brad Snyder and Cortney Jordan. At the 2014 Pan Pacific Para-Swimming Championships, Synder and Jordan won a combined 14 medals, including 10 golds. He also served as an assistant coach at the Pan Pacific championships, helping Team USA top the medal standings with 115 medals, including 34 golds. Loeffler also served as the head coach for Team USA at the 2014 Croatian Open and is the head swim coach for Loyola University in Maryland.

Ryan Reser – Judo
Paul Walker – Tennis

All-Time USOC Coach of the Year Award Recipients

National Coach of the Year
The National Coach of the Year is presented to a coach of an elite-level club, collegiate or national-level team, or the coach of an elite athlete who competes at the highest level of his/her sport.

1996           Tara VanDerveer, U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Coach
1997           Frank Carroll, Olympic figure skating coach of Michelle Kwan
1998           Ben Smith, U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey coach
1999           Chris Carmichael, Cycling Coach of Lance Armstrong
2000           Richard Quick, U.S. Olympic Women’s Swimming Team coach
2001-02     Pete del’Giudice, U.S. Snowboarding coach
2003           Lloyd Woodhouse, USA Shooting National Team coach
2004           Mike Candrea, U.S. Softball Women’s National Team coach
2005           Eddie Reese, U.S. Men’s National Swimming Team coach
2006           Bud Keene, U.S. Snowboarding coach
2007           Guy Baker, U.S. National Water Polo Team coach
2008           Hugh McCutcheon, U.S. Men’s National Volleyball Team coach
2009           Bob Bradley, U.S. Men’s National Soccer Team coach
2010           Brian Shimer, U.S. men’s bobsled head coach
2011           Rick Bower, U.S. Halfpipe Snowboarding Team coach
2012           Adam Krikorian, U.S. Women’s National Water Polo Team coach
2013           Erik Flora, Alaska Pacific University Nordic Ski Club head coach
2014           Skogen Sprang, U.S. Slopestyle Skiing Team head coach

Paralympic National Coach of the Year
The Paralympic National Coach of the Year is presented to a coach of an elite-level club, collegiate or national-level team, or the coach of an elite athlete who competes at the highest level of his/her sport.

2004           Mike Hulett, USA Women’s Sitting Volleyball Team coach
2005           Randi Smith, U.S. Paralympic Archery Team Head coach
2006           Julie O’Neill, U.S. Paralympic Swim Team head coach
2007           Adam Bleakney, U.S. Paralympic Wheelchair Track coach
2008           Ken Armbruster, U.S. Paralympic Women’s Goalball head coach
2009           Scott Moore, Denver Judo coach
2010           Ray Watkins, 2010 U.S. Paralympic Alpine Ski Team coach
2011           Dave Denniston, U.S. Paralympic Swimming head coach
2012           Tom Franke, U.S. Paralympic Swimming head coach
2013           Adam Bleakney, U.S. Paralympic Track & Field coach
2014           Brian Loeffler, Swimming, U.S. Paralympic Swimming Team coach

Developmental Coach of the Year
The Developmental Coach of the Year is presented to a coach at the youth club, high school or junior level, or a coach who is directly responsible for training athletes to reach the junior and/or elite level.

1996           Jeff Shaffer, University of Southern California
1997           Dianne Holum, Speedskating
1998           Mike Stafford, Millvale Golden Gloves Gym (Cincinnati)
1999           Tom Healy, Northbrook (Ill.) Speedskating Club
2000           Fred Zimny, Luge (Lake Placid, N.Y.)
2001-02     Mike Eaves, U.S. National Under-18 Hockey Team
2003           Bob Fraley, Fresno State (Calif.) University Track & Field
2004           Dwayne Miller, Norfolk (Va.) Real Deal Track Club
2005           Tammy Gambill, U.S. Figure Skating
2006           Mark Mitchell and Peter Johansson, U.S. Figure Skating
2007           Paul Yetter, USA Swimming
2008           Rajul Sheth, Table Tennis (Milpitas, Calif.)
2009           John Wingfield, Director and Head Coach of USA Diving National Training Center
2010           Michael Nyitray, United States Bowling Congress (Miami, Fla.)
2011           James Hrbek, USA Judo
2012           Michael Nyitray, United States Bowling Congress (Miami, Fla.)
2013           Kathleen Johnston, USA Triathlon
2014           George Ryals, Archery Learning Center (Snellville, Ga.)

Volunteer Coach of the Year
The Volunteer Coach of the Year is presented to a coach who does not receive payment in any form for his/her involvement in coaching at any level.

2003           Carol Hardemon, Metro Dade (Fla.) Track Club
2004           Barry Hunter, Washington, D.C. Boxing coach
2005           Cindi Hart, IndySpeed Sport Club head coach (speedskating)
2006           Booker Woods, LA JETS head coach (track & field)
2007           Sherman Nelson, USA Taekwondo coach
2008           Rita Gladstone, Area Tennis League coordinator (Volusia County, Fla.)
2009           Brian McCutcheon, Oahu Taekwondo Center instructor
2010           Dave Farmer, Aurora (Colo.) Saracens Rugby Club coach
2011           Tom Waga, Brigham Young University Rugby coach
2012           Don Showalter, USA Basketball Men’s Developmental National Team coach
2013           Bienvenido “Benny” Roman, USA Boxing Training Camp coach
2014           Kathleen Stevenson, Oklahoma Storm Junior Olympic Archer Development Team coach

Doc Counsilman Science Award
The Doc Counsilman Science Award recognizes a coach who utilizes scientific techniques and equipment as an integral part of his/her coaching methods or has created innovative ways to use sport science.

2004           Joe Vigil, USA Track & Field
2005           Dr. Kyle Pierce, USA Weightlifting
2006           Kate Arbour, U.S. Figure Skating
2007           Sean O’Neill, U.S. Paralympics Table Tennis
2008           Dave Bennett, USA Wrestling
2009           Heidi Thibert, U.S. Figure Skating and Edora Pool and Ice Center coach
2010           Dr. Grant Schaffner, U.S. Bobsled & Skeleton Federation
2011           Neal Henderson, USA Cycling
2012           Doug Eng, U.S. Tennis Association
2013           Gordon Uehling III, U.S. Tennis Association
2014           Dave Hamilton, U.S. Women’s National Field Hockey Team director of performance science

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World. To reach our audience, contact us at