Breeja Larson Sets Unofficial American, U.S. Open Record at American Energy Elite Pro-Am


OKLAHOMA CITY – After coming up short of an American record in the 100 and 200-yard breaststrokes, Aggie’s Breeja Larson raced her way to unofficial American and U.S. Open marks in the 50-yard breast at the American Energy Elite Pro-Am.

Larson scorched the pool with a time of 26.88.  That effort undercut the American record of 27.11 set by Megan Jendrick at the 2007 edition of this meet that is currently listed as the record by USA Swimming. It also cleared Alia Atkinson’s unofficial U.S. Open record of 26.96 posted at the 2013 FG Senior Championships.

Previously, Tennessee’s Molly Hannis had a 27.09 split in the 100-yard breast at the SEC Championships as the fastest 50-yard breast by an American.

Larson had never broken 30 seconds in the event until today, when she posted the 27.22 in prelims and ripped through a 26.88 this evening.

Badger’s Emily McClellan took second in 28.19 with Pinecrest’s Martha McCabe placing third in 28.41.

                       === Championship ===                       
  1 Breeja Larson          22 Aggie Swim Club     27.22      26.88  
  2 Emily McClellan        22 Badger Swim Club    28.42      28.19  
  3 Martha McCabe          25 Pinecrest Swimmi    28.84      28.41  
  4 Haley Spencer          23 Minnesota Aquati    29.43      28.65  
  5 Laura Sogar            23 Bluefish Swim Cl    29.34      29.57  
  6 Taylor Ballard         17 Mississippi Mako    30.24      30.15  
  7 Isabella Cothern       13 Jets Aquatic Clu    30.92      30.37  
  8 Corinne Despain        14 Razorback Aquati    31.66      30.97

Miller then touched out GPAC’s Brendan McHugh for men’s 50-yard breast.  This morning, McHugh posted a 23.91 in prelims.

Tonight, Miller returned fire with a 23.61 to 23.66 touchout triumph for the win.

Kevin Cordes holds the unofficial American and U.S. Open marks with a 23.58 split during his 100-yard breast at the 2014 NCAA Division I Championships.

                       === Championship ===                       
  1 Cody Miller            22 Badger Swim Club    23.93      23.61  
  2 Brendan McHugh         24 Greater Philadel    23.91      23.66  
  3 Jared Anderson         24 Minnesota Aquati    24.51      24.23  
  4 Zach Hayden            27 Club Wolverine      24.90      24.25  
  5 Carl Mickelson         24 Scottsdale Aquat    24.75      24.47  
  6 Mihail Alexandrov      29 New York Athleti    24.87      24.51  
  7 Garland Sullivan       23 Bolles School Sh    25.17      24.72  
  8 Derek Toomey           23 Badger Swim Club    25.98      25.52

For the second night in a row, California’s Nathan Adrian challenged an American sprint freestyle record.  After just missing the 50 free last night, Adrian popped a 41.58 to win the men’s 100-yard free this evening.  That’s a bit off his American record time of 41.08 set at the 2009 NCAA Championships.

Club Wolverine’s Miguel Ortiz finished second tonight in 42.41 with Dax Hill rounding out the podium with a third-place time of 42.44.

Stanford’s Felicia Lee continued her strong meet with a swift 1:53.39 to win the women’s 200-yard back.  That just missed her lifetime best of 1:53.36 from the 2013 Art Adamson Invitational.  St. Petersburg’s Melanie Margalis placed second in 1:55.80 with SwimMAC’s Stephanie Nelson taking third in 1:59.78.

Club Wolverine’s Bobby Hurley blazed his way to a 1:41.76 to win the men’s 200-yard back.  Badger’s James Wells finished second in 1:42.83 with NYAC’s David Plummer winding up third in 1:42.92.

Pinecrest went 1-2 in the women’s 100-yard free as Sandrine Mainville topped the sprint in 48.10 and Michelle Williams claimed second with a 48.27.  NYAC’s Megan Romano rounded out the top three in 48.77.

Bluefish’s Laura Sogar grabbed some unexpected prize money as the breaststroker won the women’s 200-yard fly in 2:01.53.  Razorback’s Luciana Thomas placed second in 2:02.59 with Charger’s Chrysten Pacheco taking third in 2:06.30.

Club Wolverine’s Kyle Whitaker walked away with the men’s 200-yard fly title in 1:42.70, an in-season best for him. Bolles’ Michael Flach touched second in 1:44.06 with Pinecrest’s Zack Chetrat placing third in 1:44.08.

Badger’s Lindsay Vrooman won the women’s 1650-yard freestyle in 16:09.95, while Club Wolverine’s Emily Brunemann touched second in 16:16.01.  Razorback 12-year-old Hayley Pike finished third in 17:17.36.

The Woodlands’ Mike McBroom, who uncorked a sizzling 1000-yard free on night one, powered his way to victory in the men’s 1650-yard free with a 14:35.53.  Club Wolverine’s Michael Klueh earned second in 14:42.02 with Badger’s Ryan Feeley placing third in 14:56.74.

Results: American Energy Elite Pro-Am

Editor’s Note: The meet is one of two dueling Oklahoma City-based Elite Pro-Ams this weekend. John Brown, the original head coach and founder of the meet when it began more than 20 years ago, has since moved on from the Kerr-McGee, then Chesapeake, and now American Energy Swim Club to the King Marlin Swim Club. He is hosting an alternate version of the meet at the Oklahoma City Community College, the historic hosts of the fun winter-based short course yard professional event. Meanwhile, the meet’s founding club, American Energy is hosting this meet of the 23rd annual Oklahoma Elite Pro-Am at the Mitch Park YMCA with Josh Davis at the forefront of the event.


  1. avatar

    A shout out to the Canadian and US pros at the meet. They were gracious and professional. A privledge for the age group
    kids and parents to meet, watch and learn from.

  2. avatar

    Molly Hannis from University of Tennessee had a 27.09 split at SEC Championships at College Station on February 22, 2013 (former American Record).
    Kevin Cordes had a 23.58 split at NCAA Division I Championships in Austin on March 28, 2014 (actual American and U.S. Open record).

    • avatar

      Good catch, Montell. Although, USA Swimming is on the record as not officially recognizing 50-yard times as records of any kind anyway. Will update the story with the appropriate unofficial records.