Auburn, Kentucky Lead SEC Championships After Diving

LEXINGTON, Kentucky, February 4. AUBURN'S Steven Segerlin captured his third event in three days, and Kentucky's Taryn Ignacio claimed her third consecutive SEC Championship as both took gold on the platform on the final day of diving competition.

Segerlin's 452.80 score is a new SEC, Lancaster Aquatic Center and Auburn record as he headlined a 1-2 Tiger finish on day three. Teammate Daniel Mazzeferro took second to push the Tigers well in front of any other team heading into swimming competition.

"I was pretty confident coming into today," said Segerlin. "I had a little bit of a rough prelim and I wanted to come back sharper at night."

Segerlin was better and sharper than the rest as the senior placed two dives of 80.00 or more with scores in round two of 80.00 and an amazing round three score of 89.10. Auburn leads the men's competition scoring a team-high 177 points. Florida is over 100 points behind with 71.

Ignacio has won the platform event in each of the past three seasons and Kentucky has now won the event four consecutive years, as Kari Retrum won in 2004. Ignacio also bettered her own SEC- and pool records she set just a season ago, when she notched a 319.75 score to take her second crown of the weekend.

"It is exciting to break the record in my pool and at my home," she said. "I was really glad to do this my senior season."

LSU placed three divers in the finals, to lead all women's teams. The Tigers finished three, five and six to guide the team to second place in team standings overall. Auburn's Lynnsey Seagraves claimed silver with a score of 294.75, 25 points shy of Ignacio.

Kentucky leads the women's scores with a 103. LSU stands in second with 101.5 points and Auburn in third place with 84 points. Swimming events begin at the Lancaster Aquatic Center on Wednesday, beginning with two relay events.