Arno Kamminga And Marrit Steenbergen Top The Podium On Opening Day Of Flanders Cup

short course world championships KAMMINGA Arno NED 100m Breaststroke Men Heats Abu Dhabi - United Arab Emirates 16/12/2021 Etihad Arena FINA World Swimming Championships (25m) Photo Andrea Staccioli / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto
Arno Kamminga: Photo Courtesy: Andrea Staccioli / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto

Arno Kamminga and Marrit Steenbergen were among the winners on day one of the Flanders Cup in Antwerp.

Double Olympic silver medallist Kamminga went 2:11.34 to take the 200m breaststroke, four seconds ahead of Ivo Kroes who clocked 2:15.35.

The 27-year-old also went 26.90 – 0.10secs outside his Dutch record and the joint fourth-fastest of his career – in the 50br prelims but didn’t appear in the final that was won by Kroes in 28.67.

Marrit Steenbergen of The Netherlands reacts after winning the gold medal in the 100m Individual Medley Women Final during the FINA Swimming Short Course World Championships at the Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre in Melbourne, Australia, December 16th, 2022. Photo Giorgio Scala / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto

Marrit Steenbergen: Photo Courtesy: Giorgio Scala / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto

Steenbergen was on fine form throughout 2022 and renewed acquaintance with the top of the podium once more following a 1:59.41 victory in the 200 free.

The European champion was the only woman inside two minutes ahead of Imani de Jong (2:00.81) and Janna van Kooten (2:01.40).

Stan Franckx set a Belgian record of 55.01 in the men’s 100 back, slicing 0.13 from the mark of 55.14 set by Emmanuel Vanluchene in 2013.

Stan Pijnenburg tied with Sean Niewold in the 100 free with both men stopping the clock at 50.22 and Thomas Verhoeven clinched the 50 fly in 23.70.

Benito Carlos Garach won the men’s 400 free in 3:51.71, Novoa Miguel Martinez took the 200 fly (1:59.94) and Thomas Jansen went 2:04.28 in the 200IM.

European junior champion Roos Vanotterdijk won the 100 fly in 59.05 and came second in the 50 back in 28.91 behind Maaike de Waard (28.25) while Kim Busch took the 50 free in 25.03.

Jimena Sanchez Ruiz headed the 100br in 1:09.36, Malvai Nahia Garrido took the 200 back (2:15.63), Angela Martinez Guillen led the 800 free in 8:42.59 and Ambre Franquinet won the 400IM in 4:53.58.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x