Andrew Seliskar, Katie McLaughlin Win Big at Speedo Grand Challenge

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

The 2019 Speedo Grand Challenge hosted by the Irvine Novaquatics had plenty of big names competing at a summer meet that is a step before nationals and the world championships this summer, led by Andrew Seliskar.

Seliskar went a 53.01 in the 100 fly to win the event, while Louise Hansson won the women’s event in 58.20. Seliskar also won the 200 free (1:47.88) and 200 IM (2:00.91).

Ryan Murphy won the 200 back in a 1:56.67, dropping nearly six seconds from his prelims time. Jacob Pebley won the 100 back (54.33).

Katie McLaughlin won the 200 free with a 1:57.62, a huge time drop for her this season, where she had yet to go under 2:00. She again did her famous double and finished with a 58.46 in the 100 fly to finish second.

McLaughlin also won the 200 fly in 2:09.52. Abbey Weitzeil won the 50 free in 25.29.

Reece Whitley won the 200 breast in 2:12.31 and 100 breast (1:00.77).

Katie Crom, 15, won the 400 IM in 4:50.00. Michael Chadwick won the 50 free in 22.48. Cal’s Sean Grieshop won the 400 IM in 4:22.38.

In the 400 free, Jordan Wilimovsky won in 3:53.68 and also won the 1500 free in 15:10.30.

Erica Sullivan won the 800 free (8:29.25) and 400 free (4:13.95).

Dasha Ustinova won the 200 back in 2:10.40. Anastasia Gorbenko won the 200 breast (2:28.78) and the 200 IM (2:11.98).

Keaton Blovad (1:00.97) held off Ali DeLoof (1:01.24) to win the 100 back.


Share and Tweet This Story

1 comment

  1. avatar
    Dr. Buky Chass, Israel

    I wished you noted that Anastasia Gorbenko by winning the 200 brest. and 200 I.M. set 2 new Israeli Senior National records and she is only 15. Her time in the I.M. is better than the Olympic (2020) A cut!!!
    Go Nastia…….

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial