Nathan Adrian, Breeja Larson Challenge American Records at American Energy Elite Pro-Am

Swimming - Prudential Singapore Swim Stars 2014 - OCBC Aquatic Centre, Singapore Sports Hub, Singapore - 5/9/14 Men's 100m Freestyle - Nathan Adrian of USA (L) celebrates his win with Shinri Shioura of Japan Mandatory Credit: Action Images / Norman Ng Livepic EDITORIAL USE ONLY.

OKLAHOMA CITY – Saturday night at the American Energy Elite Pro-Am proved to be incredibly fast with Nathan Adrian and Breeja Larson both giving American records a run for their money.

Nathan Adrian nearly broke his American record in the men’s 50-yard free with a sizzling time of 18.67 in the shootout finale.  Adrian took down NYAC’s Josh Schneider, who also cleared 19 with an 18.96 for second.

Adrian’s American record is an 18.66 at the 2011 NCAA Championships swimming for California collegiately.  His previous second-best time had been an 18.71 from the 2009 NCAA Championships.  Tonight’s time is the sixth-fastest time ever swum.

[table “” not found /]

Meanwhile, American-record holder Lara Jackson, now swimming for Auburn, took the women’s 50-yard freestyle shootout with a 21.77.  Pinecrest’s Sandrine Mainville placed second in 22.18.

Jackson holds with American record with a blazing 21.27 leadoff while swimming for Arizona at the 2009 NCAA Championships.

A day after threatening the American record in the 100 breast, Aggie’s Breeja Larson returned with another scorcher in the 200-yard breast.

Larson threw down an epic time of 2:04.48, tying her former American record of 2:04.48 for her personal best time that makes her the second-fastest swimmer of all time.  Only Emma Reaney has been faster with an American record time of 2:04.06 from the 2014 NCAA Championships for Notre Dame.

  1 Breeja Larson          22 Aggie Swim Club   2:09.63    2:04.48  
                 28.01        59.89 (31.88)
        1:31.87 (31.98)     2:04.48 (32.61)

Larson swam the finale nearly by herself with Pinecrest’s Martha McCabe taking second in 2:07.47.  Badger’s Emily McClellan finished second in 2:12.12.

Badger’s Cody Miller and GPAC’s Brendan McHugh put on a thrilling showdown in the men’s 200-yard breast with Miller coming up just a bit faster, 1:51.23 to 1:51.84.

Miller is the second-fastest swimmer all time with a 1:51.03 lifetime best behind Kevin Cordes’ other-worldly 1:48.66 from the 2014 NCAA Championships.  McHugh, meanwhile, broke 1:55 for the first time tonight to jump all the way to eighth all time in the event.

1 Cody Miller            22 Badger Swim Club  1:53.60    1:51.23  
                 24.92        53.07 (28.15)
        1:21.50 (28.43)     1:51.23 (29.73)
2 Brendan McHugh         24 Greater Philadel  1:56.99    1:51.84  
                 25.41        53.83 (28.42)
        1:22.57 (28.74)     1:51.84 (29.27)

Kyle Whitaker, meanwhile, took third in the finale with a 1:54.58.

Stanford’s Felicia Lee had a lifetime best of her own in the women’s 100-yard back.  She charged to a sizzling time of 50.75, which beat her previous best of 50.91 from the 2014 NCAA Championships.  That time put her seventh all time in the event, but tonight drew her closer to Paige Miller’s sixth-ranked 50.70 time.

New York Athletics’ Megan Romano took second in 52.43 with Stanford’s Maya DiRado placing third in 52.48.

St. Petersburg’s Melanie Margalis grabbed the women’s 200-yard IM crown in 1:54.28. That’s an in-season best for Margalis, clearing the 1:54.68 she set at the 2012 Georgia Fall Invitational.

Stanford’s Maya DiRado checked in with a second-place time of 1:55.41, while Laura Sogar earned third overall in 2:02.83.

Darian Townsend, representing New York Athletics, won the men’s 200-yard IM in 1:42.03.  That’s his third-best time ever behind a pair of 1:41s with a 1:41.79 at the 2013 edition of this meet as his lifetime best.

Club Wolverine’s Kyle Whitaker finished second in 1:43.23 with Bolles’ Rez Wong earning third in 1:52.59.

Club Wolverine’s Bobby Hurley grabbed the men’s 100-yard back title in 45.33 with teammate Miguel Ortiz taking second in 45.97.  Badger’s James Wells placed third in 46.27.

Badger’s Lindsay Vrooman smoked the women’s 500-yard freestyle finale with a time of 4:41.15.  Ohio State’s Sam Cheverton finished a distant second in 4:45.06 with Club Wolverine’s Emily Brunemann taking third in 4:45.71.

The Woodlands’ Mike McBroom hit the wall in 4:13.06 in the men’s 500-yard free for the win.  That’s McBroom’s third best time ever.  Club Wolverine’s Michael Klueh finished second in 4:14.43 with Badger’s Ryan Feeley claiming third in 4:16.12.

In relay action, Central Arkansas’ Lindsey Butler (58.03), Delaney Haralson (1:09.66), Isabella Gati (57.37) and Kimberly Ernhart (53.09) took the women’s 400-yard medley relay title in 3:58.15.

American Energy’s Josh Davis (52.62), Quinn Bunnag (1:01.11), Joseph Short (51.03) and Jonathan Ye (47.82) captured the men’s 400-yard medley relay in 3:32.58.

Editor’s Note: The meet is one of two dueling Oklahoma City-based Elite Pro-Ams this weekend. John Brown, the original head coach and founder of the meet when it began more than 20 years ago, has since moved on from the Kerr-McGee, then Chesapeake, and now American Energy Swim Club to the King Marlin Swim Club. He is hosting an alternate version of the meet at the Oklahoma City Community College, the historic hosts of the fun winter-based short course yard professional event. Meanwhile, the meet’s founding club, American Energy is hosting this meet of the 23rd annual Oklahoma Elite Pro-Am at the Mitch Park YMCA with Josh Davis at the forefront of the event.

Results: American Energy Elite Pro-Am