Alex Liang Ends Night Two of Stanford Futures with Two Top Finishes

Photo Courtesy: Donna Nelson

By Alison Murtagh, Swimming World College Intern

Day two of USA Swimming’s Future Championships in Stanford, California resulted in many close races and and fast finishes. Alex Liang of Palo Alto Stanford Aquatics was the star of the night, earning two top finishes.

Maddie Murphy of Crow Canyon Country Club Shark started the night off by edging out Ella Ristic of Mission Viejo Nadadores by .01 in the Women’s 200 Meter Freestyle. Murphy clocked in with a 2:01.71, followed by Ristic’s 2:01.72. Third place was close behind, with Rachel Rhee of Rancho San Dieguito finishing in 2:01.96.

The Men’s 200 Meter Freestyle was not as close, with Liang winning by two seconds (1:51.34). Second place went to teammate Benjamin Ho, who finished in 1:53.11. Thomas Reed of Santa Clara Swim Club rounded out the top three with a 1:53.41.

Zoie Hartman of Crow Canyon Country Club Shark took first in the Women’s 100 Meter Breaststroke, touching the wall in 1:11.56. Close behind was Avalon Schultz of Santa Clara Swim Club who finished second in 1:11.96, out touching Madison Ward of Walnut Creek Aquabears (1:11.99)

Eric Tolman of Ripon Aquatics dropped over half a second from his prelim time to win the Men’s 100 Breaststroke in 1:03.76. Trent Pellini of Mission Viejo Nadadores came in second, posting a 1:03.80. Third place went to Daniel Comforti of Brentwood Seawolves, who finished the event in 1:04.14.

The Women’s 100 Meter Butterfly resulted in another close race, with Nikol Popov of Canyons Aquatic Club winning the event in 1:01.49 and Jennifer Campbell of Palo Alto Stanford Aquatics dropping over a second from her prelim time to finish in second with a 1:01.55. Samantha Shelton of Mission Viejo Nadadores had a strong showing as well, finishing third with a 1:02.18.

Andrew Minakov of Terrapins Swim Team won the Men’s 100 Meter Butterfly in a quick 54.04. Liang garnered a second place finish in 54.47, followed by Evan Carlson of the Tualatin Hills Swim Club, who clocked in at a 55.10.

Samantha Shelton of Mission Viejo Nadadores dropped five seconds from her prelims time in the Women’s 400 IM to secure a first place finish in a time of 4:51.21. She was followed by Chloe Clark of the Sierra Marlins Swim Team (4:52.58) and Sydney Okubo of Aquazot Swim Club (4:58.50).

Kevin Vargas ended the night with a win in the Men’s 400 Meter IM. He dropped almost five seconds from prelims to finish in a 4:28.21. Zachary Cootes of San Luis Obispo Swim Club came in second in 4:30.48. Daniel Yos of Aquazot Swim Club touched the wall in third, with a time of 4:31.06.

Day three begins tomorrow morning at 9:00AM.

All results can be found on Meet Mobile.