Air Force Invitational

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado, October 28. THE Air Force men's & women's swimming and diving teams swept a five-way meet against Adams State, Colorado College, Colorado Mesa and Colorado Mines Friday night at the Cadet Natatorium. The wins improve the men's team to 5-1 on the season, while the women's team improved to 6-1.

The Falcon women put in another dominating performance, taking first overall in all 13 events. The men's team took first overall in eight events.

In head-to-head scoring, the AFA women defeated Adams State (170-34), Colorado College (164-73), Colorado Mesa (138.50-92.50) and Colorado Mines (155-78). The men's team defeated Adams State (179-43), Colorado College (145-87), Colorado Mesa (173-66) and Colorado Mines (178-52).

The Falcon women had 11 different swimmers earn individual wins in addition to both relay groups. The 200 medley relay group of Erin Bleyl, Rosie Mayou, Gabby Aranda and Cassie Fletcher led off the meet with a winning time of 1:50.29. The 200 free relay group of Kim Davis, Sara Brooks, Janelle Galang and Clara Heffernan closed out the women's portion of the meet with a winning time of 1:39.67.

In the freestyle events, Davis won the 1000 free (10:36.62), Heffernan the 500 free (5:20.07), Hannah Cesare the 200 free (1:57.48), Heather Ireland the 100 free (53.14) and Samantha Laughlin the 50 free (25.20).

Aranda won the 200 medley (2:14.11), Haley Holcombe the 100 fly (1:00.61), Bleyl the 100 back (1:00.19) and Mayou the 100 breast (1:10.47). Moranda Hern won the 3M springboard diving 239.40) and Lainie Long won the 1m springboard diving (218.05).
The Falcon men opened the meet by winning the 200 medley relay. The group of Ryan Haas, Sam Wieser, Kyle Casias and Jonathan Eng swam a winning time of 1:36.46. The 200 free relay group of Eng, Angus MacDonald, Micah Newmann and Paul Leonhardt capped the meet with a winning time of 1:25.98.

In the freestyle events, Alex Strom won the 1000 free (10:12.80), Tim Martinelli the 200 (1:43.40) and 100 free (46.95).

Ryan Dunne won the 200 IM (2:00.21), Leonhardt the 100 fly (51.44) and Newmann the 100 back (52.94). Brent White took second in the 1m springboard diving (258.35) and Alex Pecci took second in the 3m springboard diving (244.15).

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.